Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 July 2007
I found this book after James May referred to it in his Telegraph column. For anyone who is the wrong side of 40 and was desperate as a teenager in the 70s to own a motorbike, this is a wonderful read. All the bikes are there; the sports mopeds, the 250s and the four cylinder 750s. Lots of wonderful pictures. The author is clearly an enthusiast and whilst much of the detail was too technical for me, that didn't diminish from my enjoyment of the book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - even the chapters on Kawasakis, Yamahas and Suzukis (being a Honda fan). A very well balanced book, not too technical but enough to satisfy, Rod writes with great style and a dry sense of humour. A really enjoyable read for anyone with an interest in the development of Japanese motorcycles and the classics that emerged in the 1960s, 70s and 80s. Nicely produced with great photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
Well written Book in an understandable writing. The book gives a good overlook of the development of Japanese bikes in the UK, but not necessary in the rest of Europe, it could have been more neutral in its opinions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
The book appears to be missing many interesting bikes from the 80's, such as
intruder series, Eliminator, and vt shadow, v-max, etc.
I think that the custom bikes does not seem to included the so-called classic bikes in this book.
The photos in the book are very good, but there is very little technical information of the bikes.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I bought this for a friend on his 50th birthday. Having both grown up with mopeds (FS1E v AP50) and progressing to other Yams, Suzis and Hondas through the 70s and 80s it was an absolute must. By the time I wrapped the present it was well thumbed by me.

Needless to say that it was a hit with the recipient. In fact he has a collection of several of the featured bikes, so very topical.

It covers all manner of classic japanese models. Many makes and models. 50cc to 1300cc (guess which?).

A real trip down memory lane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
superb book if you were into japanese bikes of the 70's, they're all here, all the makes, all the models, all the specs, great photo's as well as a detailed written account of each bikes performance, takes you back in time,highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
This is a second hand book but easily as good as a new one, and lives up to expectations regarding content, all the bikes I expected and more are featured
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
Thank you very much for your excellent servis and for amazing book for motorcykles funs! See you next time.Eva- Slovakia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Well writen and excellent pictures - recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
excellent book ,excellent service. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)