Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2005
An interesting, informative look at one of motor racings greatest ever drivers. The book charts Senna's rise from an early age in karting - through to formula 3000 and then to formula 1, culminating in that black day at Imola 94. This is a great account of a genuis at work. Recommended.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2007
Ayrton Senna. The name conjures up many feelings in many people, the greatest ever driver? A vicious and uncompromising racer? a warm and kind individual of many depths? After reading this book the answer is obvious - He was all of that and more, Hilton writes in such a way that you understand everything about the man. Hilton has thoroughly researched his subject, and also speaks from the position of knowing Senna. From wheeling an elderly patient in a wheelchair - to the epic and bitter battles with Prost and Mansell (and also not afraid to expose Senna's more questionable behavior either) this book covers every aspect of Ayrton's life. And more intriguingly he tackles the "second life" Senna's legend has taken on since that fateful afternoon at Tamburello some 13 years ago.

Put simply: It is one of the best books on Formula one and motoracing that I have ever read - and by far the best ever on Ayrton Senna.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2011
First I should explain my title - when I got to the end of the first chapter, I found my attention wandering, halfway through the second it had gone walkabout.
Why? fascinating subject matter, intriguing man, early death and subsequent promotion to demi-god - why was I bored?
Then I remembered the only time I read Geoffrey Archer - a short story in the Sunday Times - this shares the same "style"
A check revealed that Christopher Hilton was not a pen-name for Archer but he certainly has Archer's gift for turgid prose and clumsy construction
The book read like a bad translation of one written in another language or a transcript of a 'phone conversation
It's obviously attempting to be chatty and light- Hilton wrote for the Express and while this approach works for a newspaper column, it simply irritates over 384 pages
If that's what you want, fine, but if you want to read a serious biography I would suggest looking elsewhere
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
....but only because I'm currently reading a separate paperback in respect of a certain Gilles Villeneurve. Once finished, I will then turn to this bumper read. Cannot wait, 5 stars as I know it will be a good read. Senna was 'one' of 'the' best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Whilst Hilton combined three previous books and one new one into this Senna biography, it is so much more than that. I come not from the perspective of a fan but instead having spent thirty years professionally involved in both two and four-wheeled motorsport. That the average fan might not concur with my opinion only serves to demonstrate the yawning chasm between spectators and participants.

Without trying to write an introduction to professional motorsport, Hilton's attention to detail delivers not just a fascinating account of Senna's journey but also the definitive 'How to' guide for any aspiring participant. Any driver, team member, or even sponsor should take due care in reading this book and feast on the detailed gems that will make a difference. The single most informative book on motorsport that I have ever read. Thank you, Christopher. RIP.

David Gale - RamTec Motorpsort
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
It is great to have access to all the information contained in this book and my hat goes off to Hilton for his research, knowledge and interest - but Christopher Hilton is no writer and if you want a beautifully written account of Senna's life, this isn't it.

I read the book for its content whilst wincing at the turn of phrase and language used, along with Hilton's sparing use of punctuation. This often means you have to re-read sentences which I found quite frustrating. Hilton's writing style is like a couple of mates chatting over a beer, overly colloquial and inappropriate as a form of written language, especially to depict a character as extraordinary and glorious in his achievements as Senna.

Very sadly, Hilton's knowledge is not matched by his writing skills which I think lets down his subject matter.

Basically, I love the info but hate the writing which is why I have given this only 1 star. A subject like Senna deserves better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
i bought this book amongst the many of senna books on the market. i must say i really enjoyed this book and couldnt put it down. a comprehensive history on the greatest f1 driver of all time. a must to get a good understanding just on how good this man was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I read everything I can about Senna and this book has it all covering his life career death and all his driving records.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
Not "the definitive" book about Senna... far from that. Mediocre writing style, and not exhaustive enough. Much better for real fans: "The life of Senna", found it much more interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
bought this book as a birthday present my father was pleased he says it was very informative and a dam good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)