Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
18
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2011
I have read far too many of Black Library's books to count them. I will be the first to admit, that I have enjoyed the vast majority of them...but sadly, Gavin Thorpes "Purging of Kadillus" is a not one of those.

My initial response to the book was that it was "ok", but having now had time to reflect on its content, my opinion is now rather that the book is "poor".

Thorpe has written some excellent stories - first among them being the "Path of the Warrior" book, concerning the enigmatic Eldar. And that he does very well. The iconic Adeptus Astartes, however, seem to perpetually be beyond Thorpe's grasp. I have read many of his stories - "Angels of Darkness" and "Call of the Lion" as well as listened to his audiobook "Raven's Flight" - and have noticed that whenever the author tries to portray Astartes, they come across as flat and...well...boring.

Being a fan of the Dark Angels Chapter - the protagonists of this particular book - I am very disappointed by the way they are portrayed. Their commander, Belial, comes across as insecure, second-guessing, and keeps turning to an attached, junior character for validation and confirmation of everything he does. The Chaplain, Boreas, is stubborn to the point of sheer stupidity and arrogant to boot - the sole redeeming character is that of Scout-Sergeant Naaman, whose exploits are interesting and whose insights are enlightning.

Of the Space Maries Battles series, I have read three - "Rynn's World", "Helsreach" and this one. This stands as by far the worst.

When compared to a writer of Aaron Dembski-Bowden's caliber - an author who has also written about the Dark Angels in the short story "Savage Weapons" - Gav Thorpes short-comings become painfully clear. Sadly, it seems that Black Library has given the task for detailing the exploits of the Dark Angels to Gav Thorpe, so we can expect further trash like this book from his hand.

Alas and woe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
I have to concur with what others have already said The Purging of Kadillus was flat.
It lacked any real zing, the characters were two dimensional, the plot was by the numbers and straight down the middle, it was a glorified battle report with missions from the rule book being ticked off one by one. I actually gave up towards the end I just lacked any desire to continue reading. The best bits were as others have said the Orks, why couldn't we have had more of them .

The biggest insult is that like the White Scar novel Hunt for Voldorious the chance to expand on a non mainstream chapter was utterly squandered, and its not like the Dark Angels dont have an interesting background. The only thing I took from this book is that if the Dark Angels dont shoot you with bolters they will at least bore you to death.

I'm very cross.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 April 2011
As others have commented, the whole book was flat: the story - entirely predictable - the caracters, which do not come alive and seem to be stereotypes, the ending - in victory, of course. The only original element I found, apart from the Ork bosses speaking some kind of "cockney-style" Imperial, which was at times almost amusing and sometimes ridiculous, was that these bosses - for once - seemed to have tactical and strategical intelligence. My main disappointment is that - once again - the Dark Angels have been made into something of a caricature. A shame...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
This book is one of the Space Marine Battles series. It has lots of action, good and bad characters, good characterisation, and lots of combat. In short, if you like lots of so called "bolter porn", then this is for you. Otherwise, i would suggest going for something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
Fast paced but lacking depth, compared to Rynn's World say. Perhaps this is the point of the Marine battles series, but still, not quite absorbing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Although there are other better books in this series of 'Space marine Battles' this one was still good, not brilliant, and with characters who are not greatly detailed, but still none the less was an enjoyable read. Plenty of action, bolter fire, explosions and Orks riding around on buggies, keeping it all fast paced. You can see how this links in with the W40K game and how the set pieces of the action could easily be replicated by the gamer, especially the smaller skirmish scenes, which is of course half the point in these books, raising the profile, and of course the revenue, of the W40K product Universe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
I do not recommend this book for anyone above the age of seven. It is truely terrible, even by Black Library standards. The plot is poor, the characters are two-dimensional, and the language is robotic. The battle map inside the book looks like it was drawn by a five year old; in fact, a five year old could have probably done better. Avoid this book, please, for the sake of your sanity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
The Purging of Kadillus is quite simply, flat. It never seems to get to grips with the concept that the 41st millenium is a time of great battles and heroic warriors. The Astartes are portrayed as weak and indecisive, lacking that true superhuman quality. The idea that a squad, never mind almost a company could lose two battle brothers to eighty regular ork boyz is a sign of poor research. They are the bulwark against the terror for gods sake! Not some two bit PDF soldiers with all the backbone of Gav Thorpes understanding on the subject. This may seem harsh but having read his other work, The Path of the Warrior, I had been hoping he would improve from what was a lack lustre beginning in the 40K universe. It just doesn't seem that he has, failing to capture the real power of the Waaaagh or the defenders of humanity. I am sorry to have to give the Purging of Kadillus such a low rating, but the essence of a great book, not just a great 40K story was nowhere to be found. Better luck next time Mr Thorpe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
Firstly let me say I enjoyed this book, but when I was looking for something a little enigmatic about the Dark Angels, I got a good set of fast paced battles instead - not let down then, but perhaps something I wasn't expecting.

Saying that I enjoyed the structure to the book, which effectively provides a series of stories and battles from the view of various members of the Dark Angels Chapter - without spoiling things I especially liked Veteran Sergeant Naaman's take on things and his heroic attempts to establish how the Ork reinforcements keep arriving.

Interestingly enough since collecting WH40k stories I have noted that the various Space Marines are showing greater and greater emotion, including self-doubt - something which earlier stories didn't consider. This has been shown not only in the Horus Heresy series but also in this set of books. Not sure if this adds or detracts from them as peerless warriors.

Good read and a book I would recommend to WH40k fans.

Keep 'em coming.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Have read many books from this series and it's clear the best ones involve space marines and Orks this is Great fast paced book with some twists and turns and amazing heroic sacrifice loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.