Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2010
Amazing book, really really really good, not quite the best Omnibus in the series but my word Abnett is a stunning Guard writer.

One problem, binding, had a few prblems with Black Librarys shoddy binding and it hits hard in this book (mine anyway) 50 or so pages hanging in a loose clump at the back due to the gum not affixing it properly, annoying but not a deal breaker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
Guant's always been a favorite and having these books in 1 is great not sure how people got confused those as its title is The Lost(Gaunt's Ghosts Omnibus) great book looking forward to the next installments
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
A misleading title, by mixed bag I mean 4 distinct story telling methods, all highly enjoying and furthering the Tanith legend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Bought as a gift so unable to comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Nothing to complain about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Fantastic group of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
This is a fantastic book, if slightly long. It should have been broken into 2 seperate books. But that's my only gripe. Lol
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I have never bothered to write a review before but the misleading description by Amazon has annoyed me that much. Do not buy this thinking it is a new novel it is a collection of Traitor General, His Last Command, The Armour of Contempt and Only in Death. You have been warned.
77 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
I was severely misleaded by Amazon wrong description ?

Where in these words:

"The Tanith First-And-Only are among the most legendary regiments of Imperial Guard and at their head stands Commissar Ibram Gaunt, unflinching in duty and unrelenting in combat. The Lost sees the very future of the regiment in jeopardy as Gaunt battles the forces of Chaos across the Sabbat Worlds, from rescue missions to the horrors of the battlefield, the Tanith First-And-Only must survive extreme dangers or be forever lost."

should I learn that this is a compendium of previously published novels ? Please, be more careful with the descriptions!
66 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Really don't bother it is terrible.
I've read plenty of books by the black library this is not like any of the great Horus Heresy novels or a good guard novel like 'fresh and iron'. It's just plane disappointing. He spends plenty of time talking up Astartes and then throws away their lives oh so easily. The main problem is the final Astarte scenes are ridiculously implausible in the 40k world. There is one instance where an Astartes empties a clip at point blank range and misses the guard soldier as he scrambles up a tree. Another scene a guard soldier activates a powersword steps out from behind a tree (as if trees are 2D) and cuts an Astartes in half? - the astartes was even facing this tree.
I actually threw away the book after the first 200 pages. If like this book you probably like any 40k book.
It's completely rubbish and i will never read from this author again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse