Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2006
The Somme needs little introduction to the military historian Great War enthusiast and many family historians as the events there around 90 years ago left a mark on French soil and in British history that can never be deleted.

It is a known fact that an ever increasing number of researchers, enthusiasts and casual trippers visit these areas each year, obviously some are more interested than others and it is the casual visitor or those with limited time, that these two splendid books are aimed.

Major and Mrs Holt produce the best guides to the battlefields one can wish to buy, they are without a doubt quality products and are invaluable to a wide range of readers. Despite this new volume being a fraction of the price and size of the more detailed Holts publications, it does not lack detail and therefore anyone contemplating a visit to this famous battlefield area would be advised to take a copy with them on tour.

In usual Holt's style,it is fully comprehensive and features excellent colour pictures and maps, excellent itineraries with map references and mileages together with a wealth of other up to date information and facts, it will make any visit to this area so much more enjoyable.

Its well done and thanks once again Major and Mrs Holt for your valuable contribution to this fascinating subject.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This small book is an excellent pocket guide to the museums, war cemeteries and battlefield locations of the Somme sector of the Western Front between 1916-18, containing just the right amount of detail to plan any visit lasting no more than three or four days. During my visit to this region in August 2010, I found it to be invaluable.

The Somme offensive of 1916 is described and the actions of all the participating formations detailed. A further section then relates the enormous German offensive of March 1918 (the "Kaiserschlacht" meant to deal a knock-out blow to the Allies following the freeing-up of hundreds of thousands of the Kaiser's troops on the Eastern Front after peace was made with the new Bolshevik regime in Russia) which basically fought over the same ground as the 1916 Somme battles until it was ground to a standstill by lack of supplies and allied counter-attacks, returning the front to stalemate.

The authors detail the most prominent and interesting sites to visit - the excellent museum under the market square in Albert which exits into an ornamental garden (painted wall mural and shell-damaged church tower featured on the book's cover), for example, is under no circumstances to be missed - and many of the minor memorials and lesser-known spots. Any visitor to this part of Europe will be aware that the landscape is littered with cemeteries and tens of thousands of war graves: German, French, British (especially in this sector), Australian, Canadian and a few American too: the flower of a generation scattered across the gently rolling fields under a sea of white gravestones. Monumental white stone structures on which thousands of names are carved impose themselves everywhere on the landscape; poignant reminders of the cost paid in lives for Europe's thankfully long-gone age of tribal warfare.

The Holts' book is a quality publication with good informative text, well laid out with many pages of excellent photographs. One minor criticism I would have of the pocket-guide is the lack of a large-scale map offering strategic perspective of where everything is in relation to the main road/town network. Reportedly such a regional map is included in the larger edition of the book, but if you buy the pocket-guide, you need to buy the map separately. Make sure you don't visit this region without it, so you can see at a glance where you are in relation to everything else. The book does however contain smaller maps of several localities, and these are useful and detailed once you're actually there.

Overall, very good as a serious and knowledgeable guide for a short visit, and buying and studying it before you go will save you a lot of time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
invaluable on the trail and even more useful if you buy the map to go with it. basically took all the effort out of the trip
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This book was very useful. I bought this one and the one for Ypres for my trips to Belgium and France to visit the battlefields last year. We used these everyday to plan an itinerary. This was great and enabled us to decide what we wanted to see and put the whole region in context. I am visiting the Ardennes amd Normandy this year and will be buying the relevant books in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
Good small guide book excellent for taking with you
Directions good and distances accurate. Could do with some road maps particularly if you want to visit sites in a different order from the tour.
Used in conjunction with the CWGC overprinted Michelin maps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
I am just back from the Somme and used this book as a guide ... It was invaluable and let us see the total area. We not only found where our Grandfather won his military medal, but we also found the grave of another friend and the trench where another friends relative won a vc .... I cannot say how much this book meant to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
An excellent book for the pocket on a limited visit to the Somme area and well illustarted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
A very practical, informative and useful guide. We were visiting the area for three days - this guide helped us choose a few sites and enabled a most memorable time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I took this book with me to France and couldn't have wished for a more informative book. I recommend it to any one visiting the battle fields of WW1. Mike Allen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
A very useful book for touring the battle fields. Easy to follow and very informative. I will look at other books for our next visit to the Passsendale area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)