Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2006
The names of Ypres and Passchendaele need little introduction to the military historian Great War enthusiast and many family historians as the events there around 90 years ago left a mark on Flanders soil and in British history that can never be deleted.

It is a known fact that an ever increasing number of researchers, enthusiasts and casual trippers visit these areas each year, obviously some are more interested than others and it is the casual visitor or those with limited time, this splendid books is aimed.

Major and Mrs Holt produce the best guides to the battlefields one can wish to buy, they are without a doubt quality products and are invaluable to a wide range of readers. Despite this new volume being a fraction of the price and size of the more detailed Holts publications, it does not lack detail and therefore anyone contemplating a visit to this famous battlefield area would be advised to take a copy with them on tour.

In usual Holt's style,it is fully comprehensive and features excellent colour pictures and maps, excellent itineraries with map references and mileages together with a wealth of other up to date information and facts, it will make any visit to this area so much more enjoyable.

Its well done and thanks once again Major and Mrs Holt for your valuable contribution to this fascinating subject.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
Excellent small guide for a short visit to the area. Directions very useful particularly on small roads eg drive past the glasshouses etc.
Worked well in conjunction with the CWGC overprinted Michelin maps
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
We took this book with us on our 2-weeks cycling tour of Flanders and found it invaluable and referred to it constantly. It provides just the right amount of details about battles, cemeteries and memorial sites without overloading the reader with too much technical stuff about military strategy etc. It's also a great size for carrying around while cycle touringas it's not heavy or bulky. Even though we were only in Ypres for 2 day, we found it really opened up a window to the past and to the sheer hell these men must have experienced almost 100 years ago. A great little guide for any visitor, no matter how much time you spend here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
invaluable on the trail and even more useful if you buy the map to go with it. basically took all the effort out of the trip
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I visited the field where my Great Uncle Herman was killed during the 3rd battle of Passchendaele. It was a very moving moment. To then visit the Menin Gate and hear the bugle playing at 8o'clock in the evening, an event which has been held nightly for about 80 years was another very moving moment. To then see his name on the 48th Battalion panel and place a poppy alongside his name on behalf of all my family and relatives was a moment in time I shalll treasure forever. This book, purchased after my visit, gives in well explained and precise detail the battles along the Western front I visited, including a very interesting account of the 3rd battle mentioned above. One can only partially visualise the horrors those young men faced, knowing their chances of survival were indeed very slim. Holt sets out well those horror fields so that any one wishing to go there can learn about what took place when, and then see the resting places that he also includes in his book. A good buy and guide for anyone to read and take with them if doing a Wester Front Tour.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Excellent guide to Ypres, including reasonably priced places to eat.
Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Flanders Fields.
Easy to read text and very good photos/pictures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
The 'bible' of Battlefield guides - had the paper copy for years now added the Kindle - brilliant work from the Holt's - should get knighted for services to the military, archaeological history and tourism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
i'll be back at Ypres for the fourth time in a couple weeks so I downloaded this to my Kindle and discovered lots of new information and ideas for visits. Easily worth the small amount of money it cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Super book giving plenty of details of the Ypres area during this conflict,full of excellant imformation on the various battles that took place here,also highlighted lots of places of interest and how to travel there with the time required to do the various tours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
We used this book a lot whilst on a recent weekend trip to the battlefield sites. It has all the information that is required.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)