Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
207
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on 25 April 2008
I have this book and absoluetly love it, it exaplains why he did it, how he did it and some of his experieces and anecdotes. The book is excellent to be able to see decent street art, but then I came across the person Bansky is inspired by. He is fairly unknown here in the UK but HE is BANKSY'S idol, he is called Blek Le Rat and he too has a book out, he is a 56 year old frenchman who has been doing the things Banksy has been doing for years longer, you can buy his book off amazon. I would say buy Banksy's book to see the British side of street art, but buy Blek Le Rat if you want to see the true inspiration behind Banksy's work.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
It's great to see banksy's work in a large glossy book like this, but I have to admit to being slightly disappointed when I first got this book. It's not that there's anything wrong with this book, but having already bought Exisencilism, Cut It Out and Banging Your Head Agaist a Brick Wall, I did feel that I'd just been duped. Instead of the new Banksy book I was looking forward to what I had bought was more of a compendium of his previous works. Having said that it still is a very good book, just be warned if you have got his first three books, this does not contain much that you don't already have.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
It certainly is true, Banksy has a way of observing that which is both wrong and hypocritical with the world. Be it on the streets of his hometown Bristol, the hustle and bustle of London or the particualry unnerving Gaza strip (and beyond), Banksy has something to say which is at times rather amusing but also poignant.

So we move onto "Wall and Piece" which is a summary of Banksy's work to date. This publication really does step away from his previously published work in that it is a full blown hardback of some weight. His previous books were pocket size, a lot less substantial and thus far more discreet.

This publication has all the integrity and production I have come to expect of the infamous artist, but what I would say is that, being an avid fan and having already purchased his previous three books, at times, I wonder quite how much is new material, as there is quite alot of replication. My recollection of his major new work being his trip to Gaza and that has been published on his website. That said, his images are now larger and therefore have more impact. I feel that this is a book that should be addded to anyones collection of tombs to cherish.

As an aside, if you like his work and approach to life, I suggest you try to find a hardback that was published about 4 years ago by another grafitti artist by the name of "futura (2000)" for he too has a different slant on life and his work is somewhat more ethereal (featuring on many Mo'Wax record covers of the mid 90's) but no less accomplished.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
The man's work is quite brilliant. Original, inspired, witty, irreverent, and often with an underlying social or political point.

If the quality of the photography had been higher it would have earned 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
Living fairly close to Bristol you come across the work of the illusive Banksy on a fairly regular basis. On a personal note his more artistic work actually enhances the buildings they are on and are actually becoming quite a tourist attraction. The only problem is the rest of the mindless graffiti that comes along side the good stuff

This is a really interesting book and an interesting read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
I really liked this book, and it was given to me as a present so I did not get to inspect it before hand. The image quality is not one that would be high enough for people who wished to study the work in any great detail, but as a present for amateur art lovers, or for someone who wanted a £10 catalogue of most of Banksy's famous works, then this is ideal. Most book shops in London have this on sale at the moment,so you may be able to pick it up cheaply. For people who liked the Taschen series on art, I would say its of similar quality, and a fairly interesting view for the interested Lay -person.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
If you are curious about the art created on the street by Banksy, this book gives an insight into what is generally seen as graffiti.Graffiti is a term usually applied in a negative manner, these pictures raise the bar of street art above the "Some bloke was 'ere" tag level. There are also written accounts attributed to Banksy, that add to an appreciation of how this street art was created.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
Follow the antics of Banksy, a mysterious graffiti artist prowling the London streets for a canvas. Banksy has brought together some of his works for this book and it allows you to gain an insight into the artist behind the spray can. The amusing anecdotes of how pictures came to be with some unguided public opinion makes this a great book for art lovers or those who like to rebel a little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
Humourful, biting satire, Challenge to those who cannot differentiate between street art and paintspray-vandalism. There was, and still is a place 'on the wall' for challengingly articulated comment, be it [then] in Berlin, or [now] in Ramahla, West Bank.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
I really like this book. I bought it in a gallery in Berlin, and look at it all the time. The only problem with it is that it's pretty short, but it's a good collection of fantastic images and definitely worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse