Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
28
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2016
Received the book in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2000
Not your typical "yanks and tanks" book, this is what happens when a first class intellectual ponders warfare. Just brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2002
Although i enjoyed reading 'A History of Warfare' i was somewhat dissapointed with certain aspects of his book. Great Commanders who could be written on for an eternity were given little credit for their campaigns which changed the course of history. Therefore i felt this book lacked a true sense of Historical warfare. Not only were great commanders barely mentioned but some parts of the book were innacurate, and because of this i was somewhat dissapointed when reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
This book is so detailed, that unless you're completely clued up on what he's talking about, it's extremely confusing - well, I found it to be anyway. However, it arrived quickly and was of good quality, especially seen as it was a secondhand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2002
This book while being an interesting read, has its faults. For the normal lay person it is quite a good introduction to the subject to warfare but to anyone who wants to be told an accurate version of the things i wouldnt buy this book. i must state that it is quite innacurate in its anaylsis of events and facts. To try and bind the whole history of warfare into a book this short was always a mistake. He leaves big gaps within the book. People who were considered great military leaders, he reduces to a couple of lines.
For a book this size he would struggle to fit the whole history in, even if he stuck to the narrative but he tries to analyse things as well which sadly reduces the space which could have been better used. I am someone deeply invovled within the field of military history and i can, for certain, say my colleagues, nor i, do not rate his work as accurate or useful as a guide to the history of warfare. History is based upon facts and when these facts are wrong, it reduces it to mere speculation. yours disapointedly, kale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Just like to say that I was purchasing the book for a vital piece of coursework for university assignments but it never arrived and I was still charged!

How is this fair!
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)