Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 13 February 2017
SW novels can be a real hit and miss affair - some are good, others are not. After having not read any for years,( the last one " Order 66" was a total bore) saw this, read the sample available through Amazon and was captured by it. Evenly paced, well thought out and totally absorbing - it's also not about one dimensional heroes or heroics within the SW universe, but the polar opposite - so it's a lot more appealing and intriguing (to me a least).! Have never read anything by this author before - I've been blown away! am now going to read everything else by this guy - well, the rest of the trilogy (Rule of Two and Legacy of Evil). Captivating stuff - cannot recommend highly enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2014
Darth Bane: Path of Destruction is a book that predates Star Wars Episode I by a thousand years. In the times of the Old Republic the Jedi fought the Sith almost to extinction. But in the shadows the Sith lived on...

Des is a miner on Apatros whose vigorous work and appalling living conditions lead him to despise the Republic. A clash with soldiers of the Republic makes him a wanted man. He must decide to leave Apatros to join the massive Sith army. It soon becomes clear that Des is destined for great things. His ability to foresee the actions of opponents makes him formidable in combat, and his connection with the Force continues to develop.

The struggles and challenges Des had to face made Path of Destruction an unpredictable, surprising, and rewarding read. Many times throughout it wasn’t clear if Des would overcome his challenges, and if he didn’t I was invigorated by his stout determination and stubborn motivation. The road to survival is indeed a twisted one, as was shown. The way it was written was truly exceptional and fulfilling, so congratulations to the author and editors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
While Drew Karpyshyn's story is fantastic and well worth listening to, I found this version of the audiobook to be a massive disappointment. It just has way too much noise and music in the background. I found the background sound and music so loud that it seriously got in the way of hearing the story being read which made the whole thing pointless for me. I couldn't listen to it. If you're someone who struggles with background sound when hearing someone speak then I would avoid this audio recording. If you're someone who can hear anyone, even in a nightclub, then it should be fine. It is, otherwise, a really super story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
Karpyshyn's first novel in the Darth Bane trilogy tells the story of Des, a force sensitive miner. His years of living in harsh conditions and being brought up in a hostile environment have shaped Des into an extremely powerful individual, and this novel tells the story of his escape from a life of servitude and his new life with the Sith.

Drew Karpyshyn delivers a brilliant story with excellently delivered characters, setting and atmosphere. As the longest novel in the trilogy, you can expect 'Path of Destruction' to familiarise you quite well with the character of Darth Bane. You'll come to grips with Bane's ideology, philosophies and belief system - and most importantly his uniqueness and individualism.

Bane is one of the more interesting Sith, and you'll learn why if you read this brilliant novel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
This is required reading for any star wars fan. An in depth look at how the with order of KOTOR went from legions to only two. The journey of the main character, Bane, is full of twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2017
Been meaning to read this series of books for some time now, having come across the lore of bane being mentioned in countless other SW novels

A great story from his humbling beginnings to a powerful Sith Lord. Full of deceit, cunning and guile

Looking forward to reading the next 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2009
This is a really good starwars book my only criticism is some of the dialogue is bland,samey, and stilted; it is as though the authour just couldnt be bothered to make the characters say something engaging ( writers block, i think its called)

Saying that there are some great scenes and dialogue in it. But be warned theres some filler in here too!

p.s. i actually meant to give it 5 stars. but pressed 3 by mistake -even with the stilted dialouge this is a brilliant starwars book-
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2018
I liked it. I have read it before years ago. I am happy to have bought the trilogy. Very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
As you read the book you feel yourself being pulled into the world of the Sith, creating a deeper understanding of the Dark side and the differences with the Jedi. Although this can create a blurring of beliefs which explains in some ways explains why the Jedi and the Sith can easily change their allegance. Darth Bane as a charactor is well developed and at times its shocking to read how he moves further to the dark side. Overall an excellent read and i cannot wait to read "Rule of two". Well done to Karpyshyn for showing the dark side as it should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
After the disappointment from reading Red Harvest this star wars novel has got my old republic love back on track.

Path of Destruction tells the story of Darth Bane's rise from miner to Sith Lord and the birth of the well known rule of two in the sith.

I would highly recommend for any Old Republic fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse