Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2014
I read a review of the book in The Times which recommended it as an absorbing and interesting publication. Having read Her Brilliant Career myself, I find I'm in full agreement with the newspaper's verdict. Most of the women whose careers were featured were unknown to me so it really was a revelation to learn about them. Rachel Cooke writes very well and it's quite clear that she has researched her subjects with a passion for both them and the period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
an interesting book about some interesting people and some annoying people - I leave the reader to decide which ones I mean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Not academic but good for background of the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Witty, entertaining, diverting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Quick delivery
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Enjoyed being reminded, in some cases ,of these interesting women.. The sort of book that one can read in a leisurely way, a chapter at a time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Given it a 3 start because not a lot of new information which cannot be found on the internet and published previously.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Wonderful book about a wonderful group of women.
Grouped through talent, grit and drive to not be what they might be expected to be
Conjures up a new world that offered opportunity to the clear sighted, those who were willing to escape their lot
Not earnest though..makes the point with a witty and light touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This is am amazing book full of well researched facts about a time not often talked about or remembered. The stories of these interesting women takes my memories back to the 50's and is full of Social History
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)