Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 4 June 2017
Providing you are open to the shocking truth about the worlds treatment of women, read this book. Fantastic. i have bought several copies to share.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2017
The most inspiring and eye opening book ever. If everyone in the world read this book the world would be a better place!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Incredible book, prompt delivery and fantastic quality of used copy. A very happy customer.
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
The most important book I have ever read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2011
have not read it all yet but what I have read very inspiring, having lived out in africa many years its an honest story of life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2017
"Woman aren't the problem but the solution."
In many parts of the world woman are still not treated equally yet, they live sometimes under horrendous circumstances and are often treated without respect. This book gives account to some personal stories, which are shocking to read. Woman bare of any treatment which would reflect their right of being human. Yet, those devastating stories are accompanied by other stories of much hope and help. Help from outside sources, as well, as self help and entrepreneurship. The basic and most urgent issues always mount up in the need for better hygienic conditions and education. Those are the pillars, from which other developments can arise. Much attention and awareness for all the underlying issues is needed, which the book helps to raise. The most wishful thing is, that help from the outside is given, but then redirected to the own sources. Help should always be an aid for self help. This could be the education of woman, which in turn, can educate other woman, and so the progress can spread and the seeds for good, can make roots in the own culture to develop to grow strong. Every person, who is given dignity can grow - every life lived worth every effort towards this. Woman are half of the sky, as the title of the book says, the human race can exist only with men AND woman - and both are equally beautiful and able to contribute to our all existence on this planet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
brilliant - very informative - very challenging - written with discretion but punch - have to do something now with the information i have absorbed - not for fainthearted but this is our fallen world - we can be part of the solution for some communities and some people!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2010
This is a wonderful book, many of the stories are very upsetting to read but,these stories are told alongside tales of inspiration. Women who against all the odds have pulled themselves out of their situation to make massive changes to their own lives and the world around them. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there were numerous practical suggestions on how you and I can make the world a better place. I have started sending this one to friends... it's definately worth a read and then passing it on.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2016
George Clooney said it's impossible to read this book and do nothing. I couldn't agree more. You may think, as I did before starting, that women's rights isn't really your 'thing' until you realise this is actually a HUMAN rights issue. The authors, husband and wife award-winning journalist team Nick and Sheryl, highlight the issues and tell the heartbreaking stories beautifully. It's a page turner in all the best ways possible and arguably one of the most important books of our time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
We all belong opening our eyes to the issues reported and discussed in this book. It had me cry with both profound sadness and anger. Why is misogyny so acceptable?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)