Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2008
This book was given to me by an aunt as a birthday gift. I started reading it straight away and absolutly loved it! Read at a challenging time of my life it could'nt have come at a better time. A truely remarkable woman shares stories that many will relate to. Go get a copy!
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2008
Maya Angelou has been an important American voice for many years and readers have gotten used to the fact that each of her books opens for them new perspectives. Angelou uses a variety of genres but her wisdom and wit fill each of the volumes she penned.
This book is no different - the essays combine to draw a very personal view of the world. This is a view as seen by a woman, a mother - it is warm, human, and private. Sometimes they are funny, sometimes sad - what they always share is honesty and wisdom.
When you can listen to a wise person, you should not miss the chance. There are very few people such as Maya Angelou - their voices should be listened to very attentively.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
The best way to describe this book is this: all the wisdom you want to pass onto the daughters in your life give them this book. She is an icon, a genius and a mother - I consider all her works a national treasure.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
As usual Maya Angelou doesn't disappoint an interesting, enlightling and moving read, her wisdom is boundless yet she is kind, honest and endearingly human sharing some of her experiences through her long colourful life to pass on to her daughter...for whoever she is or whereever she's from or whatever age she happens to be ... Maya is a wonderful mentor who I would love to meet, such a beautiful soul.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
An easy read. Full of interesting facts about Maya's life. I do like Maya's writing style. Just like the fact she uses her life experiences to give others something to think about. Just in the same way a mother or grandmother would do. Would make a good gift too, to a teenager.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I found this to be a very readable book that flowed easily. A short read, interesting enough to prompt me to try further book by the same author.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
I love Maya Angelou's words of wisdom and her ability to engage the reader. I will be passing this onto my daughters to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
I gave this book a five star because it resonated with me profoundly, her short poems and anecdotes of wisdom are eye opening. I also find this book incredibly insightful in understanding the racism and discrimination suffered by black people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Yet another gem from the blessed maya Angelou. A letter written to the daughter she never had. I have two daughters and have bought them a copy of this book. What a women! Her sometimes brutal honesty is beautiful to read. If you are a women you should read all Angelous books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Lovely collection of motherly advice. Ms Angelou through her fantastic story telling ability relays some useful advice, without being preachy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here