Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 May 2012
This 960-page updated edition(2011) of '1001 Paintings' is one of the most comprehensive and informative art books that I've come across.
Professor Stephen Farthing has selected paintings from pre-1400 to the 2000s and each painting is accompanied by an illuminating and accessible text written by one of an international team of art experts. The paintings, which include many overlooked masterpieces, are listed by artist and title and the book concludes with a useful glossary of art terms.
Most people are unlikely to see all the original 1001 paintings discussed here in their lifetime but this magnificent, endlessly browseable book is an excellent alternative.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
I wanted something to give me an overview of all painting styles so I could get some ideas for replacing my current wall pieces. However, it did fall a bit short of expectations. Obviously European art is important but I was hoping for a wider scope and this failed to deliver. (There are some instances of early Asian, and African art and this does increase through the time line. However, I know most of it so it did not really do what I wanted. ) However, having said that, It's a good book to dip into over breakfast to refresh the grey cells.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Defo worth the money, this book will serve me well with the amount of research I have to do on my college course. book was second hand but in absolute excellent cond. the book provides great images and a bit about the artist and the work to help you understand it more. All round good buy and would recommend 100%.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Good but pictures not very big
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Beautiful book well packaged, real value for money. I'd recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
An excellent reference book that would be improved if you could quickly reference by gallery, country, city.
Googling the books name and "brextontravels" has a link to a google workbook sheet that contains those filters cross referenced to the page numbers. The spreadsheet is for the version published in 2011 and updated in 2014. The 2011 edition has over 30 changes in paintings compared to the earlier edition and the painting are in a different order.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
got this book as present for my friend Who is really interested in all type of art and design ,she told that is good and useful book as well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Ranks with Andrew Graham-Dixon's DK volume of Art, The Definitive Guide as one of the all time best books you could wish to own on art. Beautiful and wide in its concept. Highly recommended to the general art loving public and to artists themselves.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)