Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
54
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2014
I love reading cookbooks last thing before I go to sleep. It is the perfect mix of recipes by one of my favourite Chefs. The size is easy to hold when reading in bed. Recommended. Easy clear instruction are a delight to follow.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 August 2012
A beautifully illustrated book, Michel Roux's "desserts" provides recipes with easy to follow yet detailed instructions, precise quantities and useful tips and techniques from the Master himself. Each chapter focuses on a particular type of dessert from souffles and puddings through to mousses, meringues, tarts......a selection of recipes for every season or occasion. Superb addition to any kitchen library be it for a professional chef or the enthusiastic amateur!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 January 2015
This book covers a wide range of desserts in its 288 pages. The chapter list includes:

fruit desserts
crèmes & sabayons
hot soufflés & puddings
crêpes, batters & beignets
ice creams, sorbets & granitas
sponges & meringues
mousses, parfaits & bavorois
tarts & pastries
cakes & gâteauxs
chocolates & petit fours

In other words, more than enough variety to keep the sweetest toothed person happy. The biggest reason to appreciate this book is that while all of the recipes are within the capabilities of the competent home cook, there is enough attention to detail to make sure that every aspect of the recipe is covered. This includes everything from a summary of ingredients and equipment in the introduction, to a chapter at the end of the book covering the basics, such as sauces and pastries. The food photography is reasonably good, although not every single recipe has a photograph. There are many traditional recipes, but also a few variations that should give you new ideas. A very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Another book in Michel Rouxs' excellent series. The book is divided into types of dessert e.g souffles, mousses, bavarois etc and there are general guidelines set out for each type of dessert, accompanied by super step by step photos. These are then followed by some fantastic recipes. A must have for trainee pastry chefs and enthusiastic amateurs alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I can't wait to make some of these desserts! They all seem delicious. I also have the eggs and pastry book of the same series and they're excellent aswell.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
I love this book but the lay out confuses me.
The amount of information and the recipes are easy to follow, great pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
This book has a nice mix between deserts that are fairly straight forward to some spectacular dishes. The book proceeds in a very logical way increasing techniques as you move on to each chapter - would highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
im a sucker for michel roux.. and the photos are amazing- ONE THING to keep in mind though is some of his recipes aren't very clear and some key technical advice is lacking.. i am a chef and still had problems with fully understanding some of the instructions, his sauces book is simpler and easier to understand..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I love cooking and cookbooks and this one is great. My husband selfishly bought me this so I would make the desserts for him and so far I've tried half a dozen or so and they have been exceptional. The recipes are diverse, well written and easy to follow and the pictures are beautiful. There are useful tips to help and ideas for variations on the recipes. You really can't go wrong with this book. The Roux family are amazing at what they do and this book can help even a novice recreate some of their magic at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Book arrived quickly and well packaged. If you are looking for some delicious desserts with easy to follow instructions, then this is the book for you. I've recently bought some limoncello so can't wait to try to limoncellos parfait. Maybe the recipes will test my skills but I think they are worth it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse