Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2011
If a book can be summarised in one word, then the one word description for this book is classic. If you are looking for a guide to all that is fashionable in the kitchen - how to cook sous vide,or the best way to make a soil or foam - then this is most definitely not the book for you.

If, however, you are after a compendium of classic French recipes, then this collection from the Roux brothers is well worth a look. Organised into 12 regions, the recipes celebrate all that is vital, earthy and rich about classic French cuisine.

It must be said, however, that this is not a book that bows much to modern sensibilities. It seems as though the starting point for many of the recipes is butter. A willingness to plunge into the world of offal, tripe, hearts and brains also helps.

The huge advantage of a book such as this is that it is a one stop shop, go-to for the classics. So there is quite possibly the richest quiche Lorraine imaginable. A guide to proper bouillabaisse. Pissaladière (how long has it been since I've had pissaladière? Coquilles St Jacques. Cassoulet. Choucroute à L'Alsacienne. Crêpes Suzette. Galette des Rois. I could go on, but you get the idea. And just because something isn't fashionable doesn't mean it's not delicious. In fact, I might have to nip into the kitchen and give my arteries a workout right now.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
A little basic, was really looking more classic cooking. This was really my own fault so I scored it higher
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
The Roux Brothers are without doubt two of the greatest chefs of my lifetime , so I was excited to get my hands on their book, "French Country Cooking". Originally published in 1989, the recipes have stood the test of time, true classics. There are over 150 diverse recipes featured and the photography makes everything even more mouth watering. Having spent my past six summers holidaying in Brittany, I had wanted to learn more about dishes from this region for a while and this book was perfect for me to do so.

French Country Cooking starts with teaching the reader the rudiments of cooking and baking pastry, sauces and stock which you refer back to in many if the recipes. The book is made up of recipes that have been passed through generations. Rather than being split into courses, it is separated into regional dishes and each section also features a nice couple of pages about that region and ingredients that specifically come from this area. I particularly enjoyed this structure to the book because it offers more of an education than some recipe books I've read in the past.

If you are a regular visitor of France like myself, you will appreciate the opportunity to learn the genuine, traditional recipes of the region unlike anglicized versions you may see in other cookery books. It was particularly nice for me to see and learn to cook dishes from Brittany that I look forward to tucking into every year. For people who haven't visited but want to sample the real taste of France, these easy to replicate, stunning offerings will be just what you're after!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
A wonderful representation of French regional cooking. The refreshingly rustic style of the dishes are very accessible to the home cook. Combined with expert and devoted tutelage from the maestros Roux, and the beautiful photographic illustrations, this is a 'must have' for any home cook.

The resulting food is delicious, particularly if the home cook has aquired some skill.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
The Roux brothers conveys a lot of culinary information in their recipies, explained in a esay way, that will help you a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
Bought as a gift, and it's much loved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
I love it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Very good book!
No illustrations to all recepies, but description is clear and lots of really inspiring ideas.
Some of the ingradients would be rather difficult to come by in the UK without spending a fortune (truffels, the same comment about lots of fish recepies). Still you can replace things and perhaps simplify?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
Intersting to flick through but by no means are the recipes for the fainthearted. Overly complex and dated. Get Raymond Blanc instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)