Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10

on 27 June 2013
I grew up in the fifties and sixties so this book was a trip down memory lane, but also one of the best books on the subject. Lots and lots of full coloured illustrations, some never published before, and lots of Celia's artwork. I liked the informal layout, using some designs as wallpaper on some pages, and so many photos of celebrities of the time. The text gave detail of Celia's creative process and her collaboration with Ossie. I enjoyed it on many levels and as an amateur textile designer and printer it inspired my work. Just browsing through is a treat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2013
The layout and texture of this book is everything one would want in relation to Celia Birtwell. It has a real character and tells you lots about her life story that is very interesting. I would recommend it wholeheartedly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2014
Quite a special book if you like this era of design- I adored it and its a great reference work of celias.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2018
Lovely! As expected. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2014
Beautiful book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2011
Bought as a present, went down very well with the birthday girl who has sat and read and re read it several times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2012
How I coveted one of these beautiful dresses in the 70s. This is a lovely book, gorgeous pictures. The text by Dominic Lutyens, unfortunately, is very scrappy and dwindles to little more than advertorial for Birtwell's furnishing fabrics, so much less interesting than her earlier work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2016
Fabulous book...Well illustrated. Arrived earlier than expected...Very satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2012
a great book, very inspiring, a must have for anyone with a passion for textiles, fashion history and illustration - superb
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2011
I had never heard of Celia Birtwell before looking at this book (hangs head in shame). She is a very well known British designer and an icon on global arts scene. One thing I learnt from the book is that in David Hockney's famous picture, 'Mr and Mrs Clark and Percy@, Celia Birtwell is Mrs Clark!

This is a beautiful coffee table book which would be a great gift for lovers of Birtwell. It is a biography of her life but also an insight into her designing. There are many of Celia's hand drawn sketches included within the book along with many photographs of the clothing ranges designed by Celia throughout her career.

This book could be a gift for Celia Birtwell fans of any age but I would also recommend it as the perfect gift for fashion design students as inspiration or a great record of history from one iconic designer.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)