Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 June 2017
I bought all his books. The recipes are written in note format. A lot of steps and advice are missing, especially any which tell you what is critical, i.e ensure the brandy snap mixture is completely cool which will take up to an hour instead of allow the mixture to cool and form balls. I've tried 6 recipes from the various books and all 6 are pretty much guesswork. They don't work, too basic in detail. Either he is a really bad chef or purposely safeguarding his recipes. He should not be proud of his work. I have lots of cookbooks and Rick Stein never fails to miss a step in his book allowing you to recreate the recipes to a flawless standard. Sorry, really substandard instructions producing sub-standard work. Avoid.Mine are going to the charity shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Recipes not to my liking. Couldn't find one thing to cook from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
Quadrille/2008/Paperback edition.
(To avoid duplication this book has been reprinted, in November 2009, as Something for the Weekend: 60 fabulous recipes for a Lazy Brunch)

From the inner sleeve:

'In this the first book from the hugely successful Sunday morning BBC TV series, 'Something for the Weekend', co-hosts top chef Simon Rimmer and Tim Lovejoy have selected 60 recipes from the show's most popular feature, 'Lazy Brunch'. Together they have produced the ultimate cookery book for late morning meals - when breakfast isn't quite enough, but it's too early for lunch'...

And if you are lured by the 'American Pancakes with Bacon' sizzling in a skillet on the paperback front cover, this could be the recipe book of your dreams:

* 'You can be a star in a U.S. drama making these. Rustle up the pancakes for your lady with the sun gently dappling through the kitchen window for full effect...you may want to think about teeth whitening, expensive haircuts and gym sessions to be on the safe side.'

Well it is certainly a different approach - once you get to grips with the humour, if new to this duo!

Opening the cover, one finds 144 quality pages split over 5 unusually named, themed chapters:

1. Beers with the boys (page 10-35)
2. Treating your girlfriend (page 36-61)
3. Food to share (page 62-87)
4. The olds round for brunch (page 88-113)
5. Dishes to impress (page 114-138)

sandwiched between an introduction, and a 4-page index.

It is a bright and well laid out book, with all dishes photographed. Each chapter opens with a double-page spread, with the title on the left-hand page and snapshots of the following recipes on the right. Each recipe opens with casual banter, a lower case title in bright red, the number of servings, the list/s of ingredients, a clear, numbered method, and a TOP TIP.
Useful supplementary information is often added, along with serving suggestions.

From the introduction:

'...One of the best things about 'Something for the Weekend', is how much feedback I get on the recipes - how many of you lie in bed watching us with a big fat hangover! It seems Lazy Brunch is what you need - simple food, something to fill you up, make you feel good and make you want to get into the kitchen and start cooking. So get your pinny on, make the food and live the dream...'

From:- 'Tartare of salmon and avocado with prawns and pink grapefruit and a home-made Thousand Island Dressing':

* 'Now, if this dish was your girlfriend you'd never want to let her go. She's good to look at, tasty, your Mum would approve, but deep down you know she's saucy.'

A taste of the other recipes contained within:

* Pots of noodles
* Corned beef fritters
* Cheesy potato pies
* Pasta primavera
* Posh beans on toast
* Roasted tomatoes and mozzarella with lemon-chilli dressing
* Coronation chicken salad
* Poached salmon with peas and chorizo
* Home-made flatbread and spicy houmous
* Breakfast burritos
* Huevos rancheros
* Seafood bhajis with yoghurt dressing
* Pork pies
* Prawn dim sum
* Pollack goujons with tamarind sauce
* Baked macaroni and meatballs
* Haddock and sweetcorn chowder
* Spicy puy lentil bake
* Breakfast frittata
* Chicken stroganoff pie
* Pork loin with fig and balsamic vinegar
* Classic chicken Caesar salad
* Tomato and anchovy tarte tatin
* Roasted leeks in ham with lemon vinaigrette
* Smoked mackerel pâté with caramelised shallots
* Asparagus with poached egg and bacon

My favourite to date, tried and tasted ~ 'Crispy Fried Chicken with Guacamole and Pico de Gallo', from pages 26/27, with a frank admission in the opening narrative:

'In the States and the Caribbean, recipes and methods for fried chicken are taken very seriously, with many a family secret handed down from generation to generation. This is a mix of all the best recipes I have stolen on my travels.'

It must be the inclusion of that 'Mexican Beer'!

'...You'll also learn some secrets that you'd never thought you'd know...So, you can cook 'em all and then either pass on the secrets or keep them safe with smug satisfaction.
Knowledge is power.'

Quite!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
brilliant book. only one thing that i didnt like even though it turned out as their picture did. the calzone. it was too sloppy and wet inside it. other than that, i've made all of the other recipes in this book many times over. super for snacks, picnics, lunches, dinners even, party food gallore to be had in here! there'll be nothing you make that you wont like. truly super. am cross the other person gave it 3stars and said it was no good. i cook a LOT and this book IS very very good. excellent i'd say, great for anyone looking to build confidence in cooking or even pro's wanting failsafe good honest foods to impress. bloody brilliant! it must be, i've had it since it was released and used it about 24 times! :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
I love watching something for the weekend and the recipes so delighted to find this book I bought four books that had been used but was in good condition all with different titles and different pictures on the front but when I received them they are all the same ha not to worry I have given the spare ones to family and friends
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
There are so many recipes in here that you want to cook straight away, the difficulty is deciding on which one first. Its definitely not at all concerned with your health, but the recipes I have tried have been easy to follow and delivered tasty results. The huevos racheros is very good...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
got this for my girlfriend at xmas. she loves it. its packed full of great recipes that are easy to follow and some pics to make sure it looks spot on.a must have if you love the show.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I was expecting menus from the television programme , simple, quick meals for busy people. Too many pastry recipes unfortunately. I prefer pasta dishes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
this was a nice book, with some good ideas, the recipes were good, although i have not tried them all, i enjoyed the ones i have tried.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Lots of excellent tasty recipes that are simple to make.
Good combination of flavours and taste.
I enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)