Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 December 2006
This book might well be worth reading if only to remind yourself that no matter how badly things are going, you are not as sad and pathetic as these characters. There is no doubt that the author has quite bravely laid herself bare here and it certainly is truthful. But I was left wondering what the moral of the story was. Some suggestions are: "If you're getting close to 40, you may as well settle for anything" or "Its important to have rich/fabulous friends even if they do leave you with the minibar bill at your own wedding". Very depressing. Overall, not really worth the read.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2006
I spotted this book by chance and picked it up thinking it may be a good read. Well I was right,this book made me laugh out loud in places, which isnt so good when your on a packed train on your way to work! I read the whole thing in 2 days and now am waiting for next book. Well worth a read this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
Funny, poignant, realistic, truthful, all words and more to describe this book. I read the book after the second one, The Exmoor Files, but it didnt matter. Women will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
Why doesnt Liz have a lovely man to look after her? When you read her diary you feel as if you know her and you can feel her pain when she has her doubts about being loved enough. At least she has the comfort of her beloved cats to keep her going as she goes about her interesting and very full life. I would recomend getting this book and others by Liz Jones too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
As ever-Liz is honest to a fault and wears her heart on her sleeve. Bless her! PS- I've read all your books now- please write more... +fast! (-;
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
This is a really sad book.I can't quite believe that the central characters are real.
He is (or is portrayed as) a dull user and she comes across as verging on the certifiable.The level of self disclosure is truly terrifying.
It's written quite well but the urge to throw it across the room is strong
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Saw this book mentioned in a magazine review which prompted me to buy it and wasn't disappointed with the read. Fully recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
I was captivated with the story line and Liz writes extremely well. However it's so frustrating and depressing as the story develops. She comes across as extremely insecure and incapable of facing her reality whilst he is such a user it's almost unbearable to read. It does make you think about your own relationship and empathize with the situations but mostly I just wanted to throw the book across the room and yell at how blind the main characters were to each other's flaws. Very frustrating read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Love Liz Jones.. great to read more of her zany life, she reminds me so much of my own daughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
While I enjoyed Liz Jones's column, reading her sad saga in a concentrated dose in book form is very depressing. The details of the gloomy and unpleasant life led by her two central characters cancels out all attempts at humour. The wife comes over as picky and unreasonable; while the husband comes over as a user. The book is a quick read but it's not an enjoyable one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)