Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2006
As a fan of Gordon Ramsey for a long time, it was great to receive his new book. It has not disappointed. It is full of fantastic recipes, easy ones to follow as well as those for keen cooks. The menus are well laid out and the fact that you can mix and match is great. There are also sections on so many ways to cook pototoes or onion etc.

What a fantastic idea to promote Sunday Lunch, in this day and age with the pace we all work at, families seldom have time to sit down for a meal together. This book sends the message that even if it is once a week, it is important to have a Sunday lunch even if not on a Sunday, and no matter how many members there are in your family, be it two or more.

This is a fantastic book that I will be using time and time again. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2006
I am a convert. I thought Gordon Ramsey's recipes would be too complicated and fussy - wrong! This book is excellent, so is Gordon Ramsey Makes It Easy. I am an avid cook and own a vast range of cookery books, so it was a revelation that within a few minutes of skimming this book, I had learnt a few tips that I have now adopted and they actually work.

Despite Mr Ramsey's fame, he is a no-nonesense chef and his enthusiasm and passion, got me going. I have since cooked a number of his recipes - all worked and all were delicious. I also agree about Sunday lunches and eating together as a family - whilst growing up, those lunches were a ritual and hold many happy memories - it is a great shame that for many, this time together with either family or friends, no longer holds the same appeal.

As far as Mr Ramsey being a self-promoter, what of it? If anyone had a modicum of his talent, and the opportunity, who wouldn't do the same? As for being in danger of over-exposure, I don't think he has much to fear. Unlike a number of other celebrity chefs, he hasn't given up what he does best - cooking. No, I don't think he has many sleepless nights worrying about that - if his bubble bursts, he is in the fortunate position of being at the very pinnacle of what he does.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2006
'I decided to launch my 'Sunday Lunch' campaign because I was shocked to discover how many families never sit down to eat together.....
Eating together is really important to me - in my house we sit down as a family at least once a week to share good food and lots of laughter. This is always my favourite day of the week.
Only 20% of families in the UK sit together on a Sunday to eat lunch - Let's make it 100%.
GR'

The main aim of this chunky Gordon Ramsay book is indeed to get family and friends back to Sunday dinner type of dining, but don't be put off by the title reference to 'Sunday Lunch', because contained within are plenty of other recipes from the 'F Word', that could be enjoyed any day of the week!

Durable hardboard covers open to 255 colourful matt pages, split over 25 sections, interspersed with '5 Ways with' sections:-

* The Mediterranean Flavours
* Spring Greens
* Winter Casserole
* 5 Ways with Cabbage

* Chicken Chic
* Easy Entertaining
* Taste Sensation
* Classic Sunday Lunch
* 5 Ways with Potatoes

* Keep it Simple
* Easy Barbecue
* Seafood Special
* Roast Lamb
* Malaysian Curry
* 5 Ways with Onions

* Salmon in a Parcel
* Surf `n' Turf
* Essence of Italy
* Wild Food
* Fast Food
* Quick & Easy
* 5 Ways with Greens

* Retro Dining
* Sole Food
* 5 Ways with Carrots

* Spring Chicken
* Christmas Dinner
* Pig Roast
* Paella for a Crowd
* Summer Entertaining

sandwiched between a recipe list (although this can be hard to read with black ink on dark brown paper), an introduction and a 4-page section entitled 'Basics'.... finishing up with a concise index.

Easy-to-read, well laid out recipes - arranged as menus, which have clear guidelines on preparing ahead, as well as defined recipe benchmarks.

'The menus take the effort out of planning a balanced three-course meal and guide you on scheduling your time to ensure a stress-free meal.'
Easy to mix and match.

The selection 'ranges from traditional Sunday roasts to lighter summer fare, from easy 30-minute meals to Italian, Indian and Moroccan influenced family feasts'.
Emphasis is put on buying the right ingredients, the preparation and the serving as well as helping to co-ordinate the cooking of several dishes to arrive on the table at the same time - a skill even the most talented may not master at the best of times!

Typical of GR publications, the photography is split between food, some on-location shots of 'the chef', and one or two of the family.

A small taste of the recipes contained within:-

* Herb-Crusted Rack of Lamb
* Baguette and Butter Pudding
* Duck Breast with Spring Greens & Gooseberry Sauce
* Knickerbocker Glory
* Gordon's Apple Pudding
* Seared Beef Salad
* Spiced Aubergine Purée
* Honey Mustard Pork Chops
* Pumpkin Risotto with Parmesan
* Ginger Chocolate Cheesecake
* Malaysian Curry
* Salmon in a Parcel
* Creamed Leeks
* Tagliatelle of Wild Mushrooms
* Italian Sausages with Lentils
* Lemon Posset
* Beef Wellington
* Wild Garlic & Parsley Risotto
* Mayonnaise
* Sweet Flan Pastry

Pages 70/71 have 'Roast Beef with Red Wine Gravy', and......not forgetting......SIMPLY THE BEST.......'Yorkshire Pudding' recipe - in my opinion!

A highly enjoyable DVD is included with some editions of this title, from Optomen TV - showing Gordon's unfussy cooking style and presentation of his 'Antipasti Plate':-

Stuffed Courgette Rolls, Marinated Mushrooms, Beetroot with Roquefort, Whole Baked Salmon with Herbs and Caramelised Lemons with Pink Grapefruit Sauce, Passion Fruit and Banana Soufflé. (note the GR reference to a successfully cooked soufflé - 'the 'love handle' - the sign of a perfect soufflé!)

Without doing Gordon any injustice there is a faint hint of Jamie Oliver in his TV mannerisms and presentation, BUT not a mention of the real 'F' word, so suitable for all the family to watch.

Overall, a good first if new to Gordon's unique style of cookery writing, but an equally handy book to add to your GR collection, if already a fan.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2006
This is an excellent cook book that is a must for all home cooks. Where as some of Ramsays books have been very complicated & aimed at the very skilled cook this is a book that anyone can try. The dishes are interesting & inspiring & the various sections break the book down well.

Ramsays last book tried to do the same thing bust the dishe were bland and a little boring (a bit ainley harriotish!) Where as this book has some excellent reecipes that are simple yet very tasty i.e. vesison & chocolate sauce. If you have watched the F word or just like cooking buy this book it is excellent & a must have
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2006
An excellent book. With easy to follow instructions. Other Gordon Ramsay books I have found the recipes complex to follow. But in this book they are simpler. The book also offers menu for a complete meal. The starter, the main course and a dessert. It is easy to mix and match the recipes and even easier to follow the instructions. Another helpful part is the part regarding preparing for the cooking. It tells you what you need to do to prepare for the meal days in advanced. A very good book and extremely good additional to anyone's cook book library.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've always had terrible trouble with my yorkshire puddings, until someone recommended this book to me. I bought it solely for this purpose, and it did indeed come up trumps and I have to say that my Yorkshires are now magnificent. It seemed a lot of money to spend just for this, but my family think it's worth it.
Luckily, emboldened by success I have tried many of the other recipes and have found them easy to follow and have had the same success. The creamy lemon desserts are particularly classy looking, but foolproof. The cauliflower soup is also excellent and a little bit unusual. A life saver if you're bored of cauliflower cheese.
I like the way this book is organised around menus, although I rarely do all the courses together, preferring to pick and choose what suits my family at the time. It is however, thoughtfully laid out with great tips and is a very accessible, user friendly book.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2007
I think this book is nothing short of briliant The book is showing us to cook and sit down as a family, not just as Sunday lunches, but any meals that involve sitting down at the table.

As you would expect with gordon Ramsay, all the recipies are stunning, and they are all easy to follow, and all look stunning. They taste just as amazing. The book also includes an excellent DVD which has Gordon cooking a Sunday lunch menu.

The book is very well put together, with nice bold colours, and is a chunky book, which will prove to be robust overtime. Gordon ramsay's f word TV seris was brilliant, and this book just carries on from where that left off, in being a must own, and something anyone can use, and follow and get great results every time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
I fail to see the connection between this book and Sunday Lunch as an institution, and I never noticed Gordon campaigning for its 'revival' on any other platform than in this book (unlike Jamie Oliver, who gets a bee in his bonnet about e.g. school dinners but does follow it through).
The idea of creating 3 course menus and setting out a schedule of what to prepare when are very helpful, but leafing through it I didn't find that many recipes that the average family would happily select to cook and eat for Sunday lunch - pan seared foie gras? curried monkfish? clams with aioli? Bet the kids would love that! They look and sound lovely, and as a confident cook I'd have no qualms about attempting most of them, but as the basis of a 'campaign' for encouraging more families to share a weekly meal, this book doesn't stand up. It would need to be more child friendly and less daunting in its content and techniques. Rather than chicken with a morel veloute, perhaps roast chicken with home made stuffing and proper gravy, or something else less exciting but more approachable. As a collection of recipe this is more suited to meals you'd eat in the evening with friends.
And as far as including a DVD goes, there are so many full-page photos of Gordon throughout the book that I've seen more than enough of him without watching this as well. Had he produced a simple family recipe book that really spoke to the average cook a DVD of basic techniques would have been a useful extra, but since this book doesn't do that, I can't see the point of the DVD.
Should really lose the Sunday Lunch tag and be re-named Recipes from the F Word, as that's all it is.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2006
Another Gordon Ramsay book? Seems scarcely a fortnight since the last one. Still, give Mr Grumpy his due, this one is great value for money. There are at least 150 recipes here, and they're stylish, unpretentious and clearly explained. The only mystery is why there's so much tub-thumping about Sunday lunch. ("I am determined to revive Sunday lunch... join me and help to make my Sunday lunch campaign work" etc.) My guess is that ever since Jamie Oliver's school dinners `crusade', celeb chefs have felt the need to be seen standing up for Family Values. But I can't help worrying that Gordy is taking the sermonising a bit too seriously, regularly breaking off from his menus to bellow admonishments at the reader. "Switch the television off at mealtimes," he thunders; "try and enjoy cooking... keep going until the fear is gone!" Jeepers, what next? Sackcloth-clad Reverend Gordon prowling the streets, crucifix in one hand and meat cleaver in the other, visiting divine vengeance on heretics and Sabbath-breakers?
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
I have found this to be an extremely useful cook book and believe it delivers everything it states in the title - an excellent offering of Sunday lunch menus.

The summary of timings is extremely useful for planning what can be made ahead and I have lost count of the number of times I have made the beef casserole and mustard mash - excellent for a cold winters day. The range of recipes is varied and I have used some dishes such as beef wellington for dinner parties, which has added another dimension.

The recipes are both easy to follow and make which means it can be used by all wannabe cooks, irrespective of ability.

Overall, highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)