Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 February 2006
I'm a huge mushroom fan when it comes to food, so when I received this book as a present I was over the moon. The book is split into two sections, the first deals with identifying wild mushrooms and which are the best for eating, and the second part contains the recipes.
The recipes are great and very accessible. I haven't been on a mushroom hunt yet, but my local greengrocer regularly stocks wild mushrooms, so I've had the chance to try a few of the recipes, and very good they are too.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
This is a truly remarkably well written and highly interesting and leading work on wild mushrooms, cooking, safety, and codes of conduct. Antonio realy cares about the world he forages in and gives advice as to how to follow the same way. His accurate discriptions on edible mushrooms along with his coding for poisonous or harmful mushrooms is easy and helpful, I have found his 100 recipes very nutrisious and appetizing and I will be keeping his book on my shelves for the rest of my life.

Philip55
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
A good book. Clearly identifies edible varieties and gives taste guide. Includes a number of interesting recipies so that you can make use of the mushrooms that you have gathered. A number of the mushrooms featured are not typical to the UK.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
Antonio Carluccio's passion for his subject makes my heart sing: Groves of trees are his cathedrals, mossy motes his nave and chancel.

Buy this book for its (excellent) recipes and passion for 'The Quiet Hunt'. However don't rely on it for identification.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
With this Antonio Carluccio book; there can be no doubt at all that the famous chef is very passionate, and knowledgeable, when it comes to fungi. This makes it an ideal book for those who adore interesting wild and cultivated mushroom recipes from French, German, Japanese, East European and, of course, Italian cuisine.

The first ninety pages explores types of wild and cultivated fungi, along with clear photographs and descriptions. Not all of the wild mushrooms included in this guide are edible but are shown as an example of what not to touch or eat. This is great section for inspiring a further interest in exploring fungi that is local to your area (if you're fortunate enough to live nearby such places). However, Mr Carluccio does make it exceedingly clear that without an experienced mycologist, such as on an organised mushroom walk, it is very sensible to do further study and research before embarking on mushroom hunting for cooking purposes. As helpful as the field guide is - the book would be a bit bulky to take as an identifying text on a long walk.

For those who feel a little less confident in sourcing wild ingredients: there are quite a few recipes that can be made with common, and exotic, cultivated mushrooms. Substitutes for wild varieties are clearly listed. The only drawback is that some of the dishes are likely to make a considerable dent in your wallet! Fresh ceps, white and black truffles and the massively expensive Japanese matsutake are definitely not the cheapest (or easiest) ingredients to purchase. For the creation of luxurious and extravagant recipes they are impossible to beat.

For more down-to-earth recipes there are wonderful flavours in the warming Mushroom and Pearl Barley soup, crisp and refreshing starters of enoki bundles wrapped in Parma ham, a delicious Carluccio family recipe for fried pizza with mushrooms and tomatoes and many other traditional foods.

Anyone who loves cooking, and eating, mushrooms will find something of interest in this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
Quite simply the best wild mushroom book of its type. It goes into great detail describing the habitats of the most popular (and most deadly) types of funghi and then follows it up with a fantastic collection of recipes (of the former type of mushroom, obviously). If you collect wild mushrooms you must own this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
A very good book, detailed pictures of each mushroom, useful for identification purposes, interspersed with both varied and delicious recipes- as expected from Antonio. It also has some interesting reading on the history of the cultivation of mushrooms and other subjects. Recommended to both fungi fans and chefs alike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This book is a perfect gift, or just to have for yourself, if you love mushrooms or know someone who does, would defiantly get this, packaged well, arrived earlier then said (which is always a bonus) and amazing price! Defiantly recommend this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I bought this for my brother for his birthday. He was really chuffed, said the layout was really nicely designed and there was a good balance of content. He also liked the dedication at the front which I believe it to the authors dog. Nice personal touch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Wonderful, Carluccio is a god among cooks, particularly in connection with fungi. This book should inspire anybody to have a go at this magnificent food source.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.59
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)