Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The book.
-------------
This is a good text book that covers HR in detail.

Structure.
------------
The book is well structured and takes the reader from the basics through to multi company HR management. It covers all the theories and models so this would make a great reference for those doing an HR module on a degree or as part of an HR qualification.
It has a comprehensive index and can be used as a dip in reference book.

Overall.
----------
A well written and comprehensive text book on HR. A great study aid for business and HR students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Hardly a book to pick up for light reading, this text written by the Chief Examiner for the subject in CIPD is dense, scholarly and fundamental to a core understanding of the Human Resource landscape. If you persevere with this text you master the basic concepts and gain the insights needed for both the assignments and examinations.Other texts are more visually appealing but this serves its purpose well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
If you are studying for a very academic based qualification this book is great. It has lots of theory, history on management styles and I have not only used it for the HRM in Context module but others as well. I have also used some of the theory for my dissertation! If you are studying a more practical CIPD qualification, as some other reviews have stated, you may be able to get something better.
One thing I have become aware of however, is there are lots of repetitions between the texts and if I put all the books I purchased together, this one I may not have needed simply because many other books will offer the same things, just not all in one place!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Bought as on essential reading list for 5BIC module of CIPD Level 5 HRM foundation degree course - will need throughout the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Having read this and Kew and Steadwick's HR Management in Context text for the namesake exam, I can say that Farnham's text was a difficult read.

A key difference between the two is that where Kew and Stredwick will make a point and then illustrate with a topical example or case study, which works wonders for helping the reader to assimilate the idea, Farnham seems also pathologically opposed to placing any ideas in a real world context and rarely provides examples. I don't know whether this is through laziness or a decision that this text must be "tough" to be considered worthwhile but the reader of Farnham is presented with double page spreads of unbroken text (hardly a treat on the eye). The content is undoubtedly well-researched and authoritative, and shows the author's experience, but ideas are almost impossible to learn without constant rote repetition and even harder to apply. The "in context" claim seems almost disingenuous, when some maddeningly abstract ideas are presented without and full discussion or application (I still don't understand an early chapter's discussion of symbolic and post-modernistic organisations that are discovered through their "texts" - or some such academic babble)

All in all, I'd recommend the much more accessible Kew and Stredwick text, as Farnham is also the chief examiner for the final exam I'd recommend a student needs to have read some of this - particularly the theories of corporate strategy (basically the first half of the book) as past papers have included questions that referred to theories not contained in the Kew and Stredwick text. HOWEVER, this does seem to have been remedied in the June 2012 recent paper, which was friendly to readers of both.

(incidentally, I passed with a distinction. phew)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Although I have only started reading the book it appears to be very informative and well written. I am looking forward to gaining a lot of knowledge and information from the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Key text for Diploma in HR Management, arrived really quickly with the option of being bought back when course is finished. Really useful, well written book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Wow. I received this book the next day, I had some reading to do so I was well pleased with my package and the use of amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
The book helped a great deal for my MSc HRM course.Well structured and easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Very good book for those who study CIPD level 5 HR management.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)