Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 March 2017
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 December 2016
Kings and Queens of England is yet another excellent colouring book on History by the American Publishers ‘Dover Colouring Books’.
In this case the author and artist is the talented John Green.
John Green’s art is excellent and ideal for colouring in- not too much shading and plenty of room for colouring.

Dover produce a rather good selection of history based subject books which are inexpensive and surprisingly useful for Primary Schools. Their Roman, Celtic, Viking, Greek and Egyptian ones are well worth investing in. I have them all.

This book like its sister ones too works on two levels.

Firstly, it is an excellent colouring book with the black lines being easily filled with colour to produce attractive drawings. This book is wonderfully suited for children – the artwork is big and bold.

Now Dover colouring books often have a high percentage of recycle paper in their books. The result is that the colouring books do not take felt tip pens nor paint well.
The felts bleed through the porous paper and even to the pictures on the other side and paint simply turns the paper to mush.
Don’t even try painting.
Much better to stick with a decent set of crayons in my opinion.

Secondly the book works as education.
This one is on the Kings and Queens of England.
Each page has a well draw scene featuring a Monarch in a famous scene from History and many have the husbands (in the case of Queens) and the Kings Queens too. Henry VIII limited to just Anne Boleyn.

Green has written a concise but interesting description of each page which helps to explain the scene.

What I really like about this book is that being Amerigo centric is the selection of Kings and Queens.
So we have early pre 1066 ones like Alfred the Great, Canute and Harold II (of Hastings fame).
Less popular ones like Henry III, Edward III, King William III his wife Mary II along with her sister Anne.
I loved the depiction of Richard III as a warrior in the thick of battle rather than the Shakespeare’s hunchback lie stereotype.
Along with this are the first three Georges and the 5th and 6th!
This really makes the book more interesting than the ‘usual suspects’ of Kings and Queens.
The popular ones like, Elizabeth I and II, Victoria, Charles II (with a coy Nell Quinn in the background) and others are included.
Naturally in this slim volume it would need to be 3 times as thick to cover all the Monarchs of England.
The pictures are brilliant and really are ‘worth a thousand words’ to borrow a well know yet apt phrase.

All in all,
A great colouring book that is a fascinating subject for the avid colourists.

Well done Mr Green.
Thanks for Reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 January 2017
Kings and Queens of Englan, the book is yet another excellent colouring book on History by the American Publishers ‘Dover Colouring Books’.
In this case, the author and artist is the talented John Green.
John Green’s art is excellent and ideal for colouring in- not too much shading and plenty of room for colouring.

Dover produces a rather good selection of history based subject books which are inexpensive and surprisingly useful for Primary Schools. Their Roman, Celtic, Viking, Greek and Egyptian ones are well worth investing in. I have them all.

This book like its sister ones too works on two levels.

Firstly, it is an excellent colouring book with the black lines being easily filled with colour to produce attractive drawings. This book is wonderfully suited for children – the artwork is big and bold.

Now Dover colouring books often have a high percentage of recycled paper in their books. The result is that the colouring books do not take felt tip pens nor paint well.
The felts bleed through the porous paper and even to the pictures on the other side and paint simply turns the paper to mush.
Don’t even try painting.
Much better to stick with a decent set of crayons in my opinion.

Secondly, the book works as education.
This one is on the Kings and Queens of England.
Each page has a well-draw scene featuring a Monarch in a famous scene from History and many have the husbands (in the case of Queens) and the Kings Queens too. Henry VIII limited to just Anne Boleyn.

Green has written a concise but interesting description of each page which helps to explain the scene.

What I really like about this book is that being Amerigo centric is the selection of Kings and Queens.
So we have early pre-1066 ones like Alfred the Great, Canute and Harold II (of Hastings fame).
Less popular ones like Henry III, Edward III, King William III his wife Mary II along with her sister Anne.
I loved the depiction of Richard III as a warrior in the thick of battle rather than the Shakespeare’s hunchback lie stereotype.
Along with this are the first three Georges and the 5th and 6th!
This really makes the book more interesting than the ‘usual suspects’ of Kings and Queens.
The popular ones like Elizabeth I and II, Victoria, Charles II (with a coy Nell Quinn in the background) and others are included.
Naturally, in this slim volume, it would need to be 3 times as thick to cover all the Monarchs of England.
The pictures are brilliant and really are ‘worth a thousand words’ to borrow a well known yet apt phrase.

All in all,
A great colouring book that is a fascinating subject for the avid colourists.

Well done Mr Green.
Thanks for Reading.
A Regal Colouring Book- Royaly Drawn..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Another interesting and entertaining set from Naxos and read by Benjamin Soames who is a lively and engaging narrator. My 11yr old son is a huge history buff and he enjoys these CDs.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Would help, especially for children, if there were colour guides.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Good for children. Downloaded this on kindle as I wanted an audio book. It wasn't clear that it was junior. Still was interesting just basic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
THIS COLORING BOOK TAKES TIME I DO SOME THEN TIMES I CHANG BOOKS TO GIVE MY HAND A REST FROM SMALL BITS THAT ARE ON THEM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
kids love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
It is a gift but wish I had bought one for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse