Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2009
What a gem! This book will delight children and adults alike with its colourful, clear and fun approach to classical music.

Clearly laid out, each double page is devoted to a particular topic, with friendly animals to guide the way with interesting and quirky facts, and questions to encourage children to think about where and how they might hear music, all illustrated beautifully and accompanied by musical examples on cd.

There's a wide range of music, from the familiar Peter and the Wolf (used to illustrate the wind instrument section), to less familiar yet accessible pieces by Telemann, Glazunov and Granados, which should keep even musical parents interested!

With enough here to make for several readings (you probably wouldn't want to do it all in one sitting), this book has become a firm favourite in our household. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Beautifully constructed this book is a wonderful introduction for children and adults alike! As a professional musician I have particularly used the CD when working with kids. The extracts are the perfect length and it's a great and varied selection of music to initiate conversations with kids up to (and probably over ) the age of 11.
Also great present if your child is learning an instrument as this is why we learn, to play music like this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
A brilliant introduction to classical music for children. My two have really enjoyed listening to the CD and reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
A lovely book, just what I was looking for to enjoy with my little granddaughter. The illustrations are a delight - any child would love the animals which are found throughout, sometimes in unexpected places. As a teacher I value its excellent organisation & its approach to learning about music by making it such fun. A real gem.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
My kids love animals so the illustrations in this grabbed their attention. They had the music on in the background during play - they very seldom tolerate anything but nursery rhymes. So it feels like a hit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Lovely book. Very good service. 100% recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
My 6 year-old son and I are very much enjoying this book, listening to the music and talking about it (particularly trying to identify the instruments!).

We love the variety of the music, from John William's Harry Potter to a Mozart opera and Prokofiev's Peter and the wolf. You need that variety to give children the range of classical music, but to take it all in at once can seem disjointed.

The key is to take it slowly and work your way through it thoughtfully over time. If you do and really listen closely to the pieces it can lead to some remarkably insightful discussions. And it is fun!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
I read a review in a newspaper about this book several months ago and decided to buy one as a birthday present for a 5 year old boy . It is a wonderful book , laid out well and the illustrations are great too . The chapters are well defined , a very enjoyable book to look at and discover music , composers and instruments . I thought this book was so delightful that I bought another one for a christmas present for a 6 year old girl.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
What a wonderful book! Put this as a must-have on all birthday lists this year. I very much enjoyed the logical structure and beautiful illustrations. As a music teacher I'm always keen to introduce classical music to my nieces and nephews and this provides a fun and interesting way of doing so. The well-chosen excerpts and carefully thought-out questions from the 'music bird' lead to further questioning and desire to investigate other pieces of music. I have to admit to developing a soft spot for the double bass playing polar bear too!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
Delivery: less than 24 hours on the free delivery option is quite some going by any standards!

Book/Disc: To see my 6 year old boy's eyes light up and dive right into reading/listening was the best reward any well intentioned parent could wish for.

- Beautifully and imaginatively illustrated
- Super cross section of repertoire, attractively described in the book with quality performances on the disc
- Quality, hard back publication
- At 5-6 pounds, the best value investment in their cultural life
- It's FUN! :-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse