Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
49
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2016
I find it hard to believe that Roy has actually read the finished product. The amount of mistakes makes this obvious. Roy should have used a Ghostwriter with some knowledge of Football. It is badly written with too many silly mistakes, too many to mention, they start on page one ! The book is a brief history of Spurs History while Roy was employed there, with some chat regarding the Spurs Kit during this period. I bought it second hand for one penny and I am not happy.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Brilliant insight into the backroom staff and everyday life at a top team written by an honest hardworking man who comes from the same area as myself and who I can relate too. It describes the pain and sometimes pleasure of supporting the most frustrating team there can be !!! But w'ere Tottenham through and through !! as they say COYS ( come on you Spurs).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
As a Spurs supporter since 1967, I have watched games and also read autobiographies from old and recent players. This book was so different, but really enthralling and once I began to read it, I couldn't put it down. This is a must read for all Spurs fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
This is an enjoyable read and certainly targeted squarely at Spurs. Supporters of other teams will not fully appreciate its content in my opinion. The kitman has served over twenty years of Spurs legends and tells several amusing stories about their dressing room tales. A lot of it is taken up with Gazza's (hyper)activities - there will never be another footballer like him, for sure - Balotelli is the nearest in terms of outrageous behaviour but Balotelli isn't good enough to lace Gazza's boots in truth. I had heard a lot of the stories about Gazza, and may of the other Spurs folklore (such as the cup final kit debacle of 87) and it was a decent enough stroll down White Hart (Memory) Lane! One criticism is that the book was ghostwritten and the personality of the kitman did not really come across. This is a shame as by all accounts Leyland is a really popular figure at the club.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
What a pleasant change, an Autobiography with real life stories from a popular back room member of a football clubs staff. I would imagine Roy Reyland's memories could be applicable to many long serving club stalwarts the length of the country. All with a tale to tell and from the real behind the scenes perspective. Obviously this story of a groundsman to kit man in nearly 3 decades at a famous club will be of special interest to Tottenham Hotspur fans, but should equally appeal to football fans of any club who has an unsung hero. If you are not a Spurs fan replace Ginola, Sheringham, Les Ferdinand and Hoddle with your own club legends, but where Reyland has the edge is there is only one Paul Gascoigne. A thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable read coming at the usual football autobiography from another angle, and from this reviewer, highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Bought as a christmas gift for a Spurs supporter.

It will be very well received because it gives an insight to the club given by the kit man who worked for THFC for all those years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Was a little worn in the corners but good! However this was a present for my dad and when he flicked through a tatty bookmark fell out which was a little embarrassing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Plenty of good tales for any football fan,gives a good insight to what goes on at a big club,never knew a kitman did so much,a very intresting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Well written, no nasty gossip just a good look inside the dressing room of the
players and what antics they get up to. Boys will be Boys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
A life long Spurs fan. He doesn't read many books but couldn't put this one down. Read it all in a day over Christmas. Really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)