Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
80
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2009
Excellent read that will make all sports fans laugh - the rugby in almost incidental as Longy takes us through a life that most blokes could only dream of living. Hugely entertaining, you will not be disappointed!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
BOOZE,BRAWLS,SEX AND SCANDAL- THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL !!!

THIS IS A NO HOLDS BARRED AUTOBIOGRAPHY. SOME OF THE REVELATIONS ARE SHOCKING AND WILL NO DOUBT CAUSE A STIR AT RED HALL, WIGAN AND ST HELENS. I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE AT TIMES LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY. AT OTHER TIMES IT HAD ME SQUIRMING IN MY SEAT EMBARRASSED FOR ALL AND SUNDRY WHO HE HAS WRITTEN ABOUT. I CAN JUST IMAGINE LONGY RECALLING HIS WILD DAYS.I HOPE HIS FAMILY AND MATES ARE STILL TALKING TO HIM! I AM NOT A FAN OF ST HELENS OR INDEED SEAN LONG BUT I AM A RUGBY LEAGUE FAN AND FEEL THAT THIS BOOK IS A MUST FOR NOT ONLY THE OVAL BALL FOLLOWERS BUT SPORT FANS IN GENERAL. IT IS WRITTEN WITH HONESTY AND HUMOUR, HE DOES NOT BORE THE READER WITH LOADS OF STATS, FACTS AND FIGURES BUT AS THEY SAY IT DOES EXACTLY AS IT SAYS ON THE TIN !!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I never liked him as a player - I think all the ridiculous hairstyles, especially the dirty looking dreadlocks, made me dislike him even more. He may have been a good player but as a person, judging by the contents of this book, he is obsessed with drinking as much as he can, having as much sex as he can and using as many different words as he can think of to describe his genitals.

I bought the kindle version because I thought there might be a bit about the actual game of rugby, but the book is more of a lads mag dealing with sex, booze and drunken behaviour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I am a big fan of Sean Long he was a fantastic player. I bought this book and took it on holiday, it is his biography starting off at childhood, his teenage years and then through his entire rugby league career.

Sean was no Saint that was for sure! In this book he writes about all the good things he acheived but is also very honest on the mistakes he made and some of the stories (usually fuel by drink are hillarious).

What i really liked about this book is it is broken up into a lot of small chapters usually describing one event or one story that happened, so if you want to relax and pick up a book for 5 minutes without having to concentrate too much this is a great book. Written in everyday english that everyone can understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
This has to be one of the best biographies I have read in years.

As a LRLFC (Rhinos) Fan I have enjoyed booing Sean Long whilst hes either tore us apart or we have managed to control him. I have enjoyed my Friday nights watching him do the magic on the pitch, its a love hate relationship that most rival fans have with him.

The book is funny,gripping and quite shocking, I would love to read the bits the lawers took out! Overall and most important, the book is very very honest, even if it does make the lad embarrassed.

The story does jump around a little, however its very well written and you can follow it with ease. He tells us about his difficult childhood, his time at school, discovering RL and then his career especially as with most RL players, his drinking career.

I would recommend this to any Rugby fan, League or Union. It was a great laugh and had me hooked, I read it in 1 day, it was such a good book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
Certainly worth reading especially for Sean Long fans. Don't think you're getting vivid lusty stories 'cos they're not.Gives a good insight to behind the scenes of Rugby life and not any really derogatory remarks. Guess Sean's quite a nice kind of chap on and off the field.He's certainly settled down to married life. Yes glad I bought it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Some of the tales in this book had me in hysterics,especially is trip to Blackpool,you could not make that up.Very good from the fact it was about is life and not just endless match reports like some books,he tells it how it is,would love a night out with this guy.A very good book from a great guy,and superb rugby player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Some entertaining stories and anecdotes from one of the rugby leagues controversial characters. Plenty of laugh out loud moments and Sean's perspective on the very public incidents that defined his career. Whilst not expecting a literary masterpiece, a did find the structure of the book distracting, with no chronological sequence to the chapters flitting backwards and forwards through his career.

That said, an enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2012
No-one familiar with the world of professional rugby league will be surprised at what is revealed in Sean Long's autobiography, which reads as if Long and the journalist who wrote most of it, were preparing a script for Channel 4. Sean Long's life has been about Sean Long, a life into which he reluctantly allowed other people to enter and, more often than not where females are concerned, for his own sexual gratification. Like some other professional sportsmen he neglected his education to pursue his obsession with playing rugby. The result is a picture of an imbalanced personality whose grasp of reality is not one which recommends itself. Anyone suggesting Long is a role model has very low standards indeed.

Long, by his own admission, 'was at the centre of the biggest scandals ever to hit (rugby league)'. He and his team-mate Martin Gleeson both placed bets on his club St Helens to lose an away fixture to Bradford. They both knew the club's coach, Ian Milward, thought playing three games in eight days was a lot to ask. As a result all but two first team players were rested for the second of the three matches. Milward claimed eleven players were injured when they were all fit enough to play. That in itself showed poor judgement and, according to Long, was one of the factors which led to Milward losing his job the following season.

Long and Gleeson decided to place their bets before news of the weakened team was publicised. They did so, placing the bets in their own names, whereas other Saints' players placed their bets via mates. Paul Sculthorpe, the game's 'Mr Clean', was tempted but was advised by Long to open a telephone account. In Long's words, 'He didn't and I think that's because he's got a brain'. Long did not draw the obvious conclusion about himself. The bookies quickly realised what was going on and closed their books early. Bradford's coach, Brian Noble, expressed his disappointment after the game. 'We had prepared to play George Foreman and got George Formby'.

It's clear from Long's account he still doesn't understand how low he and Gleeson had sunk. As far as he was concerned they 'had simply bashed the bookies. We got one over on them because we knew our team was weak before they did.' Gleeson had played and had scored an early try, Long hadn't played so he thought he was exempted from blame. I doubt he would understand terms such as insider dealing, conflict of interest or open and honest. Blinded by greed Long and Gleeson were naive to believe they had done something worthwhile. What they had done was to sully the sport and cost the club several sponsors

The most disgusting part of Long's story is his puerile denigration of Alex Murphy who was so appalled by what they had done he would happily have seen them forced out of the game for life. Long claims Murphy was jealous of having missed out on the money that came with Super League and of 'being a rent-a-quote every time there was a player to slag off'. He referred to Murphy as a 'legend' in sarcastic tones suggesting he should have played the whole incident down even if he was 'appalled'. Having spoken to Murphy at the time I can confirm Murphy was genuinely appalled. As for the pair's respective records Murphy captained three different clubs to Challenge Cup victories, was amongst the first inductees in the Rugby League Hall of Fame and was honoured by both St.Helens and Warrington. Long played for three clubs but only made an impact at one. Both on the field and off it Long isn't fit to lace Murphy's boots.

Long himself admits one of the reasons Wigan moved him on was because he was more trouble than he was worth. He was fortunate to get away with a twelve month conditional discharge after breaking a girl's jaw in a drunken fight and had to pay her 1500 pounds compensation. Within a few weeks he was involved in another fight and paid off the person assaulted to avoid being reported to the police. Wigan had new players such as Craig Murdoch and Kris Radlinski who respected themselves and the game more than Longy apparently did. In his self-centred world Long still appears to think being the only player(to date)to win three Lance Todd trophies is sufficient to define him.

Long was fortunate to play with a great team at St.Helens. He was less fortunate with injuries. Terry Newton broke Long's jaw 'with a vicious elbow-led forearm smash'. Earlier in the match Newton had knocked out Lee Gilmour with a similar blow but the referee put the incident 'on report' instead of taking action by sending Newton from the field. Long is right in arguing the 'on report' sanction 'is one of the most stupid rules in rugby league'. Newton was banned for seven matches for the assault on Long and three for his attack on Gilmour. Newton, who lost his sister to drugs, was banned from rugby league for two years in 2010 for taking human growth hormone drugs. Tragically, six months later he killed himself.

Many of the incidents recalled by Long would have been best left forgotten and he admits he was drinking too much during his career to the extent that he remembers little about the 2002 season. He believes his wife Claire saved him from being the next George Best and having three children has put things in some kind of perspective. Certainly his autobiography an example of how not to be a role model. Rugby league is one of the hardest games in the world and relaxation is an integral part of any professional's life but the way Long lived it is not to be recommended. Three stars for honesty.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
To those who didn't like this book get a grip. I'm a Wigan fan and could have much to dislike but this book was really entertaining. I didn't want to put it down. Yes Seans played hard but no one can doubt he worked hard so for those who rated 3 and below pick up that smile you lost from your life and start wearing it again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)