Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 4 June 2010
This book is a delight to read, the author's love and knowledge of the salmo salar is second to none and his scientific knowledege is beautifully and poetically put across in this book. There are a lot of gaps in our knowledege of the salmon's life cycle especially in its aceanic phase and this book fills in some (but not all) of them.

There are sections on the romance of the salmon, the "fishy" stories and descriptions and drawings of some of the flies that anglers might use to attract these mighty creatures as well as more salutory tales on the industrialisation of salmon farming and the over fishing in many rivers which have lost their once plentiful presence. \it also offers a history of the study of not just salmon but other fish as well.

ultimately this is an optimistic book and one which adds to the growing number of essential "nature" reads although this one does have a significant "scientific" slant. This is an interesting and diverting story.

BTW this should be a review of the paperback edition but that seems to have been "hijacked" by Night Train to Lisbon, possibly because that book is published by Atlantic. Anyone any idea how to rectify this?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
As a keen salmon fisher, I am always interested in books that will give me a bit more information on the subject matter. Most of the books out there say much the same thing but in different ways, however "To Sea and Back"approaches it in a different way. Not to give too much away, it starts by describing from a salmon's view point what it is like to return to the river and even to take an anglers fly, be played and returned. It fills in a few gaps, e.g. explains the purpose of the adipose fin, (the small and insignificant fin in front of the tail). Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
The title and subject will on first glance appear to be a "fisherman only" book but this is much more and moreover the reader will enjoy the language. Yes a story of the Salmon but interlaced with history, biology, biography to weave a together a thoroughly enjoyable and worthwhile read. I really can not recommend this book too highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This book weaves together natural history, biology, personal history and collective memory. The results are excellent. Not only do you get a detailed and interesting insight into the life cycle of one of nature's most intriguing fish, you also get reflections on the wider meaning of life and some suggestion of what we might learn from nature and the salmon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
This marvellous book has enthralled my brother and some of my best friends - with whom have fished for 40 - 50 years!I am already diaposed to buy it for other (angler)friends.The book is an utter delight - cannot commend it highly enough.I feel I should write to the Author to tell him what a piece of Work it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Writes of the salmon knowledgeably and at times quite poetically, but some of the personal memoirs he uses to introduce a point about the salmon are overlong; I really don't want to know about family outings with his children and their friends, nor about Scottish church history in a book about the river and the sea and the magnificent salmon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
The book is fascinating. The author's descriptive words add to the beauty of the book as literature. And the author's knowledge and personal stories make this book a wonderful read. ev lages, Mission Viejo, California
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Recommended reading if you are a watery being. (Arn't we all?). The epic journey of the salmon from egg to parr to smolt to grilse to salmon which I never understood till now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Not what I expected but not their fault. Mine for expecting something different.Still a good read and has information which was news to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)