Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2006
This wonderful book takes you on some incredible journeys, often hilarious, sometimes very moving. The E mails are invigorating and full of energy and humour and they make you want to rush out with a backpack and have some of these extraordinary experiences for yourself. Not to be missed by anyone who loves an adventure. At the same time I found the book thought provoking as it allows you to visit a multitude of places in the company of the gappers who are are seeing the world with fresh eyes.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2006
Honestly, this is one of the funniest and unique books I have bought this year.

Hoggart and his new accomplice are witty and cynical, bringing this collection of genuine and terrifying emails to life.

Perfect present for anyone who likes a laugh-out-loud easy read.

You really should buy this book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
This book, although really only a collection of e-mails, provides some good laughs and a rather interesting read, if a very short one at that...

My only problem with this is book is that really it seems to be mostly a copy and paste job - there is a foreword and a couple of lines introducing each email, with a couple of pages of gap year e-mailing 'guidelines' at the back which are really only common sense. Although there is some funny content here, it's nothing too memorable or overly hilarious. Unfortunately there also seem to be a bit of filler here(amazing for such a small book!) e-mails which are neither interesting nor funny, remarkable nor extraordinary. It's almost as though this was prepared in a rush or published before they had enough content to make it the fantastic book it had the potential to be - it's a shame.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2006
this was the best book i have ever read. utterly thrilling, exciting, interesting and highly informative. what a fantastic christmas present....i intend to buy it for everyone, family, friends, and even pets. a must-have this christmas.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2006
seriously. grandparents, cousins, siblings- this is my number one choice of present for you this christmas!!! hair raising, hysterical and humbling, this book takes you through the highs and lows of teenage gap years. a delightful read. one for all the family. bravo simon and emily.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2006
A highly amusing read for any traveller, I was pining for more stories at the end! I hope there will be a Don't Tell MUM 2.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
For any parent with children about to embark on far away travels, or for any school leavers about to set off this book is a great taste of the high's and lows. A wonderful collection of personal experiences laid bare for all to enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
I am a fan of Simon Hoggart's and this is his funniest book yet. He has teamed up with a very witty 'gapper' and they have put together a selection of marvellously varied funny and terrifying (to parents) e-mails from gap year travellers. The book is genuinely laugh-out-loud funny and I think it is a book you can give to anyone with teenage children with total confidence that they will love it.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
After reading the reivews here i was very excited by this book HOWEVER i didnt read it all as i didnt find it that funny and it wasnt enough to keep me wanting to read further.
I thought it was one persons story of emails back and forth to his/her parents about their antics as they travel. It is however various peoples emails - maybe only one sometimes two from each person. Maybe i wasnt not in the right frame of mind for it but i wasnt laughing out loud as i expected to be. I know others love it so i would say give it a go and see whether you love it or hate it - like marmite!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
As a parent of 2 backpacking teenagers I probably shouldnt have read this while they were away! I have a few emails myself which would have been right at home included in this book! Really enjoyed reading this again now they are back safe and sound! Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)