Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 17 April 2017
A bit disappointing compared to the last one I read which was 'Hawaii'. This one is too thick and too densely written - and quite boring! Some clear descriptive text and recommendations would be welcome. This is just facts, facts, and more facts so it's not really a helpful guide for folks who rely on 'do and don't do. Waste of money. This is just my personal opinion!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 31 March 2017
This 1024-page book - the 12th (print) edition of March 2017 -is an interesting and readable (the two are not always found together) guide to the continent of Australia. Unlike many guides, this is not a glossy booklet dotted with colourful photographs to make it look superficially attractive, but a (literally) rough guide in terms of comparative paper finishes, but well-designed and presented, with readable text, useful maps, and (well-chosen) photographs only where space allows. The excellent design and layout means that you don’t need unnecessary spot illustrations to break up column after column of small-printed data.

The Contents are
P004: Introduction (Where to go, when to go, what to see, etc.)
P028: Basics (travel, accommodation, activities, and all the important touristy stuff)

The Guide:
P060: Sydney & around
P176: New South Wales & the ACT
P295: Coastal Queensland
P434: Outback Queensland
P482: Northern Territory
P554: Western Australia
P650: South Australia
P730: Melbourne & around
P804: Victoria
P882: Tasmania

P964: Contexts (articles on history, culture, flora & fauna, etc.)
P1000: Language (“Australian English”)
P1003: Index
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
Bought this for my son before he went off to Australia travelling. Hard to chose a book without seeing it so I will tell you my experience. My son does not read books except science fiction and he NEVER reads instructions. He does not listen to advise and likes to do it his way. So when he got back and removed a dog eared copy of this book from his rucksack and said "Mum that was the best thing you bought me - I used it everywhere I went. And I lent it to others" I came to the conclusion that it was a good book. His other tips were not to take a rucksack, to take a laptop or PDA as there are plenty of places to store them safely in Australia and to refill plastic water bottles as it is really expensive to buy water.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2001
this book was easy to use, very useful when I was travelling on my gap year and the reason that I managed to make it safely round oz. it guided me to some of the best places to stay and warned me off a few that I tried anyway and then realised the wisdom in their words after I had made my mistake. Buy this book if you are travelling oz, heed its words, take its advice but also don't be afraid to do a little experimenting of your own as I found many a gem of place to stay/ eat and see that were not included in the book - but then you cant expect them to know everything, it is only a rough guide but a very nice one to have by your side when you feel like you are on the other side of the world, it lends a big helping hand in making your travels that bit simpler. Buy.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
I bought this map in order to plan a 6000km cycle tour through Western and Southern Australia, and for planning purposes it's ideal since it not only shows the main highways and minor roads but also quite a few of the desert tracks as well.

However, Australia is a *big* country and compromises had to be made - for a start, the scale is 1:4m (or 71 miles to the inch in old money) meaning that for detailed navigation around the bigger cities it's next to useless. Similarly, if you're planning to take to the outback roads (eg. Canning Stock Route, Gunbarrel Highway, Great Central Road et.al) then the level of detail is nowhere near good enough.

So, for planning purposes its ideal, but if you're planning to head off the beaten track then the UBD state maps or the HEMA 4x4 maps or "Desert Track" packs are a far better bet, and there are plenty of city guides out there if you're heading for places like Perth, Adelaide or Sydney.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 1999
this book gives all the details anybody would need who is traveling to australia plenty of advice to everywhere worth visiting. the book apeals more to the indpendant traveller rather than families.it has advice on where to stay eat and party it is an essential guide if you are travelling to oz i give this book a big thumbs up.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2000
By far the best guide to australia i have read. As an aid to planning it was faultless. The hotel /hostel listings and descriptions were spot on, as were the things to do sections. Excellent!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2006
The rough guide map is great. I am looking to travel in Oz next year and needed a planning map. All the other maps concentrate on each state, or area. This one is perfect, as it covers a large area of the country on each side, yet you feel that it can be used to get about as a normal regional map.
Excellent value for money
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
I bought this thinking it would have enough detail of our roadtrip around australia later this year - it doesn't!
A good all round map of australia but don't buy if your looking for road details.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
This is a good road map of the whole of Australia, made of nice paper, and easy to read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)