Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2016
I was really looking forward to getting my hands on this book and I haven't been disappointed. It's a great read, I like the style of writing, honest and down to earth from a man who's been there, a proffessional soldier of the highest caliber.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
Chilling. An accurate and detailed account of life for the average soldier in the filth and blood of the trenches. Faultless wording, the only cause of an occasional halt to the reading flow being unfamiliar terms for everyday events. Worded in the natural style of a working class man it added to the realism. If any one doubted the opinion of the day; 'Lions led by donkeys' they should read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
A great telling of war from the sharp end, unlike many others of his time, the author doesn't hold back the emotion, detail, or opinion.
Essential reading for anyone hoping to gain an understanding of the great war from an ordinary soldier's perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
This is a bit of a strange one. It is a day to day diary of one man's war which never goes too deeply into anything else except his personal service and his feelings. The author spends a lot of time giving personal opinions of those around him, especially the officers he served under. There is also a lot of personal opinion given on subjects ranging from the "favours" offered by local women in some of the villages of northern France to opinions on men, both at home and in France who the author feels are shirking their responsibilities by dodging the front line in various ways and a whole chapter at the end given over to the rights and wrongs of the pension and medals system at the end of the war.
He also seems to have had more lives than the proverbial cat, apparently escaping death and severe wounding many times when those closest to him "went West".
I can fully appreciate that anyone who spent the whole of the period from 1914-1918 serving his country will have a lot of horrendous and even bitter memories but I am not sure if it should be the subject of a whole book.
It is not one for anyone seeking detail of the battles of WW1, and at times I found it a bit of a struggle to keep going.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
Pleased to have read this book.The daily way of the lives these men had to bear is well documented.I was expecting to read more of the mental torment and horror they must have suffered seeing the wounded,dying and dead,especially those lying in the mud of shell holes they could not reach to help.My Father was a Streatcherbearer with the 1st/14 Batt.Royal Warwickshire Regt.serving from it's formation 9/9/14 to transfer to "Z" Reserve 21/2/19 and I regret(as with all Veterans)he was never able to talk about it,even to me being a Conscript at the end of WW2
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
Its beyond me how a man can survive most of the main battles of WW1 when all around him are being killed in the thousands. A truly brave & lucky soldier who always turned down a promotion , perhaps that was the key to his survival
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
I first came across this book when I was idly browsing through the Reference Library collection in Nottingham many years ago. I ws totally enthralled by the details and the completely unself-conscious way it had been written. The fact that Frank Richards lived to tell the tale is remarkable. I spent many years trying to track it down again and I am enormously thankful that with all the WW I memories it has been reissued. I cannot recommend it highly enough for anyone who is researching or studying the period. It has the added interest because Frank Richards was one of the ordinary soldiers who was in the same battles as Siegrfried Sasoon and I think Robert Graves. This was the life of this ordinary infantryman at the time, whose voice comes through as absolutely authentic and refreshingly unheroic. He recounts his many brave actions as mere matter of course approaches to his comrades. However it is not for the faint-hearted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2008
I can't recommend this highly enough. If you want a good book about a British soldier in WW1, this is the one. I found it interesting to compare the character of Ernst Junger (author of Storm Of Steel) with Richards. They both did their duty (Richards was a fighting soldier and not just a number) but had a very different approach to it. Richards was probably what would be referred to as a "bit of a character"...
It is exciting, funny and a real eye-opener. Richards survived (and so did his senses of duty and humour) the most horrible conditions imaginable for several years.
One thing I did not expect was that this book would make me laugh. It did, several times, out loud.
Buy it. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
This book thoroughly deserved the 5 stars i gave it
Although i do enjoy reading books about wars and battles, when it comes to the first world war i always think here we go endless mud and statistics and can be a bit tedious. This book takes you with frank through the trenches ,a real soldier's eye veiw. I would recommend this book to anyone from someone only just starting to learn about ww1 to people well read on the subject .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
This book tells the story of frontline service from the beginning to the end of the war. The hardships endured by the writer and his matter of fact way of explaining them is inspiring, all school children should read this to understand the sacrifice made a 100 years ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)