Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13

on 12 January 2018
Very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2007
As an aspiring pilot, I purchased this book on the basis of recommendations on Amazon. I was not been disappointed and I enjoyed the content, the writing style and the clear diagrams.

If you have previous knowledge of building and flying model aeroplanes or have some meteorology knowledge, you have a head start. This is because the book discusses the construction and physics of airframes and how the weather affects gliding. If you haven't got that background, don't worry as it's clearly discussed and is easy to understand.

Safety is paramount as you don't have an engine to pull you out of trouble and this is made clear throughout the book. However, it is not over stated to put you off.

While the end of chapter exercises may not take five minutes to do (you need a glider, instructor and time), they make sense and build on the topic/s discussed. If you're unable to fly, you can always try the exercises first with a gliding simulator such as 'Sailors of the Air', also available on Amazon.

In summary, this book still will help you understand what is going on, even if you only have a trial flight or two. Have a read and get out there and `catch some wind'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2013
This is a superb book. The complete beginners guide to gliding written in clear language and very readable. A must for anyone taking up the sport.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2013
Book arrived quickly and in good condition.
Explains all aspects of gliding in an easy to understand way and with good diagrams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2010
Comprehensive, yet at the same time easily digestible and readable, this extremely well-written book will quickly help to transform anyone from novice to informed solo glider pilot when used to back-up the practical flying lessons.

As someone coming back to gliding after a break of some 34 years(!), I can say that this is truly an excellent book which provides a wealth of highly relevant knowledge that will quickly build both understanding and ability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2009
This is a great book for someone who has already read an earlier book on gliding such as "From passenger to Pilot". I am just in the early stages of gliding, roughly half way to solo and the technicality of the book is just right to assist in the training process. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2010
I dont read very often but this book was easy to read and very informative and has given me alot of understanding how to pilot a glider. a must for any one thinking of taking up the sport. I cant wait to get started now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2013
I am pleased with this book, although I admit it isn't for me its for my husband for Christmas, and I cant give a better review at the moment, the book is very informative,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
A fantastic book for an new pilot (and probably pretty good for more experienced pilots). An easy read and an excellent reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2012
Gliding Clubs consider this to be the Bible of gliding. God Bless you with the appropriate airspeed at the opportune moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)