Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2009
I was expecting Derren Brown style psychological illusions but got some schoolboy tricks. There are some which explain techniques which I've since learnt every mentalist employs so for beginners it's good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2003
i have no idea why the other reviewers feel so badly about this book as in my opinion its an excellent starting point for anyone interested in bizarre/mind magic. The effects are well detailed and a joy to perform with astounded responses all round
a SERIOUSLY good choice
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2003
to be honest this book was bought on a whim, however after reading this book it is apparent that there has been a lot of effort and thought put into the presentation ideas within. The balance of "easy to do" effects and excellent presentation ideas make the book more than worth the low price paid.
a VERY good choice for the beginner of mind/bizarre magic.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
ok not a grate read it was not what i expected it to be but it was good all the same the trick are ok but where not for me, the delivery was on time, i would recommend to by from this seller just do some pocking around be for you by a book from anyone... just to see where its what your looking fore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
This is a terrible book that lurches through phases of being boring, useless and irritating. The two main grievances I have with it are the personality of the author and the quality of the "tricks" suggested.

The author comes across as being incredibly arrogant and patronising, and I felt myself biting back the bile on numerous occasions imagining him carry out the performances he recommends. He basically advocates speaking to an audience of friends or colleagues as if they were small children, assuming that they're unbelievably gullible and naive, and then expecting a level of adulation and respect which is nothing short of hilarious. I knew it was off to a bad start in the introduction when he said that he actually believes in the paranormal.

The material itself is, although clearly explained, mostly mundane and predictable stuff. There aren't many tricks which you can't guess how they're performed when you're half way through the first paragraph. There were maybe 2 or 3 that I'd consider trying if modified to be less annoying.

So unless you're an actor studying for the role of a stereotypical, egotistical magician, buy a different book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2003
If you want to be the centre of attention at parties then this is the book for you. Amaze and baffle friends and family - and its all so easy to do (but they won't know how!) Just a little practice and you can be the main attraction. Take no notice of the vitriol and spite in other reviews on this site - seems to me like a case of the green-eyed monster. This is the clearest and most concise how-to book on magic I have ever read. The only problem I can see is that it might become a best-seller and then everyone will know how I did it. On second thoughts, please don't buy it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
I bought this book hoping that there would be some kind of psychological elements to it, along the Derren Brown style of tricks. I was out of luck. The book is just another magic book where every trick requires props that you wouldn't usually carry around. If that's what you want then it's probably not a bad book to get, but if you are looking for something a little bit different, you won't find it here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
More like bog standard card tricks than mentalism. Cards are mentioned in near every trick. Mentalism magic should not need props other than maybe a pencil and paper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2004
There are good magicians and bad magicians in the world, and this book teaches you how to be a good magician.
A BAD magician has a craving to know hundreds of new tricks and show them off before he has fully understood how and why they work. A GOOD magician knows even the simplest of tricks can be the most powerful trick in the world; if presented at the right time and place and presented well.
This book shows some simple effects and some with a little more depth and shows how to present them all effectively. Those looking for the latest newest tricks to impress in the playground should look in a magic store; those looking for a good grounding in magic or to improve their existing magic should definitely buy this book.
Magic takes work to get right. Magicians such a Stu (a previous reviewer) will find this book not to their liking because it highlights the work you have to do and shows that it is not knowing every last secret that counts. You can't take the tricks in a book like this simply foist them on your mates in the playground at school. The book actually tells you that you need to work on context and choose your time wisely.
Work at magic and you can achieve the impossible. Stu thinks it would be difficult to impress with the coin trick he described. Well last weekend achieved the impossible by winning a tenner with it!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
... why on earth they hang around with you.

This book is social suicide. Outmoded, old fashioned, square. Abysmal.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)