Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Well worth a penny for a lightly soiled copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2003
This is a pretty cracking book, with some fantastic sheds featured, brought to life with some lovely black and white photography.
My only criticism is that the text lets it down a wee bit - I didn't feel that the author really gets to the bottom of the "shed thing", but tended instead to ramble on a bit about stuff that wasn't really relevant.
That said, it's worth buying on the strength of the photos - you can't help but smile looking at them!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2003
This highly entertaining book seeks to highlight and promote the many and varied activities that are undertaken in the buildings-that-aren't-buildings living in gardens across the UK. The seeming mundanity of the humble shed is blown-apart by the sheer exuberant range of activities, people and machines that appear in these pages. A thoroughly interesting, if brief, read that seeks no explanation or philosophy behind the shed, but simply to show what people, in fact men, do in and with their sheds.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
What an excellent way to imagine you have another life outside of the daily grind. Each of the short articles, accompanied by a picture, explains a different use that chaps have for their sheds. It is well presented and made me wonder in awe at the somewhat unusual spare (and not so spare) time activities of the shed-loving community. The photographs capture the esence of the activities undertaken in each shed, and it is amazing to look at how each shed has evolved over time to be an ideal partner for whatever goes in inside. It rather put my simple garden shed full of tools and garden equipment into the shade. It is a great read to flick through in any order, and gives flight to your imagination, and maybe your motivation, in order to contemplate what your old shed would be like with a lick of paint and a comfy chair.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2004
The shed is a powerful psychological totem for the Englishman. It is private space, sacred space, space for contemplation - oh and space for storing the debris of a life's hobbies, DIY, and assorted junk-gathering. This excellent little photo-essay on shedding covers a range of sheds and their owners ranging from the purely functional to the esoteric and eclectic. All human life (at least, all human life as comprehended by the Shed-Type Bloke) can be found within the walls of an outbuilding - the hopes, dreams and mad projects of the British male can be seen in extremis in this book.
Oh and it's funny too ;)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2003
A Lovely book! An ideal Christmas gift for the man in your life - along with a shed of course! In my view, every man should be shedded!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
I haven't yet read this book as it is a present for my father. However the first impression left me slightly disappointed. There is much emphasis on the photography in this book yet its dimensions are smaller than many fiction books and it is a lot thinner. The description led me to believe it would be a book with high visual impact when in fact this is a book that would easily be overlooked on a bookshelf or coffee table.

However, having flicked through the content I am sure that my dad will love learning that there are people out there just like him :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2005
A book about men who have their own private den. A retreat away from the cares of life where they are free to engage in their hobbies be it a home made office, lab, workshop or simply a store for collecting things. A snapshot about life itself, showing diverse buildings and the many uses which people put their sheds to. One very minor gripe is that I would have preferred colour pictures which would have brought out a more individual feel, so characteristic of every proud shedder
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2003
Just what every man who needs to get away from it needs - all without having to get away. Simply take this with you to any safe quite haven and indulge. Nice to know there's others who do this sort of thing. A good read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I bought this funny little book for a 65th birthday present for my brother, who is just building himself a shed. Its very entertaining and gives a great insight into what men do in their sheds, very amusing. Great to leave around the place to fill in the odd few moments - in the loo or by the kettle or bedside. Just the job for a pressie for middle-aged men who have birthdays and you don't know what to give them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)