Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 November 2012
Great book but definitely needed a better editor. Page 43. Thought I was going mad and didn't understand the joke!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Pity it was printed on poor quality paper. Les would not have done that, he was a quality guy in all ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I liked Les Dawson - but the book doesn't do him any justice.
The man telling the jokes was funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I love les Dawson his one liners have me in hysterics without fail it's well worth the read very funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
love the book and the jokes had me laughing all the day and i keep going back to it for more smiles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I've read quite a few of Les Dawson's books and enjoyed them all , a very good read and funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Les Dawson's Joke Book by Tracy and Charlotte Dawson (Michael O'Mara Books)
Les Dawson was a very funny man, a proper old-school comedian who paid his dues on the Northern club circuit and then made it big on `70s and `80s TV. The Les Dawson Joke Book has been compiled by his wife Tracy and daughter Charlotte, and works as an introduction to Dawson's humour as well as any DVD or Christmas Special repeat. It definitely a better place to start that Blankety-Bloody-Blank, truly the dullest game show ever devised, and only made tolerable by Dawson's deadpan stories and wicked one-liners.

Which brings us back to the book, a collection of fantastically funny quips about his mother-in-law and missus, in particular, and the rest of his family, in general. It's mostly one-liners, and it makes them even funnier if you adopt a Dawson-esque inflection when reading them. Try it on this one:

"I took my mother-in-law to Madame Tussauds Chamber Of Horrors and one of the attendants said, `Keep her moving, sir, we're stocktaking."

See what I mean. Irresistible. Obviously released for the Christmas market, it's a book that's sure to put plenty of smiles on plenty of faces over the festive season. Probably not meant to be read in one sitting - though I just did - it's a collection to dip into whenever a little extra cheer is required.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
So good one liners and phrases that are so funny,. he was very good at coming up with a funny side to lots of everyday things and people.
I recommend this book to all , it's not sophisticated stuff just good for a laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
very good selection of les's gags, musings etc, which have stood the test of time, les was greatly loved and enjoyed and is still very much missed as a comic, performer and entertainer and writer chas, liverpool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
This book has some of his classic mother in law and his one or 2 liner's. The one where he is sitting looking up at the stars contemplating if he should get a roof put on the toilet. Cracks me up every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)