Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2008
The book its self is well written with fairly good diagrams. It makes easy reading and each trick is easy to follow and pick up BUT....most of the tricks need a certain amount of preperation. Not a lot, but such items as a frozen fly, a sculpted carrot or a pre bended spoon are required. The tricks in this book are classics and may entertain your friends , however, i was looking for simple coin tricks, mind tricks and things that didnt need any preperation before hand so that they could be done at a moments notice.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2006
As an amateur magician for many years I'm always intrested in new books on magic for the public. This one is excellent. Pete has brought the beginners magic book up to date with modern tricks that appeal to todays audiences. Its not all card tricks, i rounded up stuff from around the house and at the pub and impressed my pals.

My teenage kids love this book too and have already fooled their mother with a couple of the tricks.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in magic or people who like shocking their mates.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Thought this would be suitable for 12 year old based on other reviews, but it includes a lot of tricks using cigarettes, alcohol glasses, fork and knives, & imititating cutting body parts. Some amusing tricks for adults but just not suitable for children (thought the title was also misleading towards children)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2006
This is a great book for anybody who is interested in learning some great tricks. I've got a few beginners magic books and this one is the best as it contains tricks that will make you look like a pro. It is written in a style that is both clear and humourous.

If you like magic and practical jokes then this book is definately worth a look.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2006
At first glance this book seemed like a waste of money - routines like Kung-Fu Nana, On Me Head and Soft Glass are fairly well known (if by different names). A more thorough reading will yield some great routines. Many of the tricks with cigarettes have great commercial potential. If you perform a lot of magic in pubs, I recommend getting this book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This book is great. Bought it as a present for my boyfriend and he loves it. This would be great for any friends who are into magic and is written in the humorous style that you would expect from Pete Firman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I love Pete Firman and have seen him live. I wanted to get his book to see if I could do any of the tricks at home. Very quick delivery and had very clear descriptions and pictures in order for you to be able to do the trick at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2007
It is an enjoyable book. I will not regret buying it if you enjoy learning magic routines. A couple of notes:

1. the book is not specifically aimed at routines for pros, it is rather for people that want to "freak out" their friends. Tricks are shown to be made not as part of a show (although some may be used) but rather in day to day situations.

2. The level of tricks is uneven, most are really enjoyable, a couple are tricks that I knew whan I was 12...

All in all it is worth the money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I bought this for 0.99p, and while it was an interesting flip through, with photos to show you how to actually DO the tricks, and little to no props needed, the tricks are fairly mundane, with nothing too spectacular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
Pete Firman is an engaging personality, and with a foreword from the devil himself (Derren Brown) this book is very readable, amusing, and most importantly useful. I have a feeling that some may criticise some of the slights and effects as being basic with some of pieces verging on pranks, however even mastering a few of the tricks will indeed freak out your friends. Another slight criticism is that a great deal of the tricks are fairly location sensitive (a restaurant or a pub for e.g.), and you will be itching to try them out. so unfortunately other than the card tricks its somewhat lacking in instantly performable tricks and therefore a lack of instant gratification. To summarise im very glad i bought this book, and have enjoyed success using the techniques within. The only difficult thing is resisting the urge to tell people how it was done, and revealing the secrets inadvertently through repeat performances of the same tricks, however this is obviously a criticism of my own ability to perform magic and not on the book. Highly recommended, now stop thinking about it and buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)