Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 4 June 2009
A beautiful book, however the letter k formation with the loop is not compatible with my sons school, as it varies from school to school. My son can't wait to have a go at the next page!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
This is the second book in the Funny Phonics & Silly Spelling series and is aimed at ages 6-7 (the previous book is aimed at 5-6) and as with the first book is great for supporting the learning that takes place in primary school. As with its predecessor, it breaks each topic down into simple, usable chunks with 4-5 exercises that can be completed with just a few minutes.

Setting aside 10-15 minutes per day to work through each topic is probably a good way to go, and completing a topic before moving on to the next is also a good idea. The exercises are easy to follow and are progressive within a topic, and each topic starts at the basics each time.

As the child progresses through the book there are opportunities to consolidate the learning so far, once in the middle and once more at the end of the book. These are useful reminders for what has gone before.

There is a reward (of sorts) at the end of each topic with a star sticker to place within the topic page, and at the end of the book going towards an 'award'. Perhaps not the best motivator for some children, but others will no doubt find the visible progress a real pleasure.

The book itself is well thought out, with colourful characters to encourage the child, although some of the names could do with rethinking and the instructions and topic introductions can be a little complex and challenging for some children.

This book is best used as a support for primary school learning as each topic is really only touched upon, and often a child will need additional examples to make the learning point clear.

Overall a good book which can help support the learning process.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
My 7 years old has struggled with his handwriting. I brought this book home and he immediately loved it. The language and sentances are targeted at the age group (not dry like some of the other practise books)and the writing is broken down into easy sections with rewards at the end. He found the break letters particularly helpful (something which they don't teach in his school). He worked through the whole book in a matter of days without any nagging from me! I am now seeing a real difference in his writing at school. After showing his teacher she is carrying on the encouragement by reminding him that he has reached the lofty heights of handwriting wizard. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who would like to improve their childs handwriting.
11 Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 August 2009
This is a great workbook to use at home to encourage early writing skills. Follows the same phonics that are used at school so won't confuse children. Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
My 7 year old hates writing with a passion, it had started to become a major problem at school. This practice book breaks handwriting down into manageable chunks (first join, second join etc), completion of each section is rewarded with a gold star. The illustrations and colours used make the exercises fun. Usually the idea of writing even one page of text would have him running for the door but this book doesn't overwhelm him.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Really impressed. My 7 year old boy is really enjoying the book and is choosing to do his homework. It's a shame that there isn't a follow on book for handwriting.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
My son has enjoyed completing this handwriting exercise book. Just the right amount of work to do on each page, without the concentration wandering. Would recommend this for any boy who needs a little extra practice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Tried all sorts of books to encourage my children to learn. My eldest (8yrs) really enjoyed these books he will go and start using them without asking to do them now. He finds them colourful almost like a story and as we only do one exercise a night they are not too long or monotonous for him to do only taking approx 5 - 10 minutes to complete. In fact he enjoys them so much he has already asked if when he finishes this bundle can we get some more in the series to do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Fantastic introduction to joined up writing. I noticed a vast improvement in writing post doing the exercises in my 6yr. Plus, you can't go wrong with gold sticker stars for each page completed. Motivation or what! Teaches where to join letters and provides correct letter sizing to differentiate between short/tall/tail letters
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
The content of the book is good as an outline of the types of words children are supposed to be learning at each Key Stage, but the book has very little content, so don't rely on this book alone to teach your children.

It is colourful and has a story and theme running through the chapters. This was very useful in keeping my brother, with a short attention span, interested. He has a strong interest in fantasy though, so I don't know if it will hold the attention of children who like ponies or football.

The book also includes a star chart and challenges which helped give my brother an added sense of achievement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse