Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2009
This is a briliant book presumably written for teenagers, but I read it as an adult.
Very moving and realistic story with poignant ending.
A highly enjoyable book
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
A lovely story of a wee boy's struggle losing his Dad and having to contend with negative issues at school. His relationship with the American serviceman a precious learning curve which leaves one thinking about one's own past. A beautifully written book and highly recommended it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
I read this children's story as a an adult - a really touching story. A very enjoyable but swift read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I gave this book 5* because it was so easy to read in a day, a good down - to - earth story,and so applicable to today's society in schools and in some cases in the work-place. How to deal with bullying! A good read and well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
great book and would recommend although i would recommend any book the man writes as they are always lovely to read and very very funny. If you love James Herriot books you will love this writer too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Good book for younger readers who would like to cry a bit. Moral lesson well told. People ought to read more books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
This wasn't listed a a childs book, not a patch on his other books, quite a disappointment!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
A lovley tale of a boy who has lost his Father, and encounters bullying at School. A heartwarming tale of a young man with some very poignant moments how quickly he has to grow up. A lovley story was sad when I finished it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Very moral story well written as always by Gervaise! All about a boy losing his father at a young age.Enjoyed it and wished it had been longer. My grandaughter also enjoyed aged 15!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
It's a good story about a young lad who gets bullied at school and how he comes to terms with that and the loss of his Father, who was a Fireman, I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.