Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2009
In my experience sequels are often pale imitations of the original but this series just gets better and better. It's 79AD - and Vesuvius is erupting over Pompei - but two mosaic makers from Pompei are unaware of this, till late in the tale, because they are busy building the floors of the new baths in Calleva Atrebatum (Silchester) in southern Britain. Our hero Topher,is the mosaic maker's apprentice and it is here that he meets the cat Ka, brought to Briton by the Romans. Topher, here an Ancient British boy, is torn when the eagle, symbol of Roman power is stolen from the forum. He knows his brother has stolen it, aided by the all powerful druid. Can he find it and restore it to the Romans before they start taking reprisals. Luckily he has the assistance of the miraculous Ka. This is a fast moving adventure which lightly carries lots of info about life in first century Roman Britain. The map of Calleva Atrebatum makes it easy to follow all the comings and goings and the kids want to go there, and to Reading Museum where they can, it seems - well it says so in the book - see the Roman eagle itself.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
This exciting time-travel adventure story is popular with pupils aged 9 to 13. This time boy Topher and Ka the time-travelling cat find themselves in Roman Britain in 79AD. They arrive in the middle of a battle. Ka loves the cat-loving Romans especially their central heating but Topher's loyalties are torn. Are the Romans a force for good or evil. The Romans bring peace of a sort. They stop the Ancient British tribes fighting each other but at what cost? When the eagle symbol of Roman power is stolen Topher has to choose sides. The book raises issues about authority and bullying and territorialism which affect Topher in his modern life too. A challenging exciting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
My class are going to love this book! After seeing Julia at Keele university, and being exposed to her writing skill! I just had to have to complete set! I highly recommend them if you are like me going in to teaching or are a teacher as they a line themselves with each topic of the curriculum and they make a great class read!!!
If anyone wants any info on them email me: adampenney4@gmail.com.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Still Julia is producing wonderful books and characters. From Marcus the mosaic maker's son to Bryn The Younger Topher's elder brother , the badie , all characters were described brilliantly. This book is my favourite of the series. Still five star rating from me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Bought for my 8 year old daughter at Christmas ...she enjoyed reading it. Loves cats & history so book was great
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Great books my son loves them. Will buy others from this supplier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Not just swearing! Be careful if you have a younger reader reading ahead of their age. This book introduces the concept of glue-sniffing. There is also bullying which on its own is fine but there was a graphic description of the young boy being threatened by a gang with knives who were breaking into his home whilst he was home alone. Kids can handle swords and the like in fantasy/historical scenes, but in a realistic situation as depicted in this book, it's much more scary. I mentioned it at school only to find it had already been removed from the list of recommended books. I think the issue may be similar with other books in the series. Every child is different but this was definitely not ok for my 8 year old. Just glad I happened to read it first as I would rarely do that. I did question if I was being over protective but if the school also took it off their list.......
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Good book with historical parts, although watch out because there is a bit of swearing in it!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here