Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 1 July 2017
Wonderful cd to listen to on long journeys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
The most exotic book of the series, (until I read The Scribes) and one of the best. With twists at every turn, desert cities, a power hungry handsome pantomime dancer, a so called descendant of Cleopatra, a quest across Africa for a precious emerald, a rumour of a new Nero, Lawrence has everything. It is exciting with action, adventure and even a bit of romance. Old friends appear with memorable new ones. What the one thing I would criticise is the lack of mystery. I always seem to like the ones with an actual mystery better, like The Slave Girl and Sirens. But the exotic location was definitely worth it. Anyone who loves Africa and Roman Mysteries - this ones for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
The Beggar of Volubilis is so far, the best Roman Mysteries book. All the new charachters are so exciting and enjoyable to read about. At every end of every chapter there is a very exciting cliff-hanger that leaves you wanting to read the next page even more. The book includes wonderful descriptions of the cities, the Mediterranean and the hot, dry desert, where the book is mainly set. Every page is breath-taking and leaves you guessing till the end. Overall, the Beggar of Volubilis is a very descriptive, moving and humourous book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
The Beggar from Volubilis is yet another mystery thriller from Caroline Lawrence. This novel, just like the other books in this series, turned out to be amazing. The four friends, Flavia, Nubia, Lupus and Jonathan sail to the exotic land of Africa, on a search for Nero's Eye at the request of Emperor Titus. Their quest takes them from city to city, and town to town in Africa. They face pantomime dancers, slave dealers and wild animals in order to find Nero's Eye. In this book, many historical figures are introduced to the readers and we learn a lot about them. This is a great read for readers of all ages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
Does what it says in the title. Exciting from beginning to end, matching physical tension with emotional suspense. And Exotic in its setting in the deserts and cities of North Africa in Roman times.
The four friends are yet again on a voyage of discovery to different place, as they search for a jewel Emperor Titus desperately wants.
My favourite inclusion in this Roman Mystery was the pantomime characters, giving a sense of ancient life not explored in the books before. But also the lack of communication in the empire, where some people still didn't know the last emporer had died!
All in all, this mystery, partly due to Flavia's dramatic decision at the end of the book, is one of my favourites yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2007
This brilliant book is the latest in the fabulous Roman Mysteries series, and I would say the most exciting yet.

In this book the four friends - Flavia , Jonathan, Nubia, and Lupus - travel to Africa and discover the country that Nubia tries to forget. On their way they meet with pantomime actors, siblings of the Emperor and many other wonderfully interesting characters.

Read The Beggar of Volubilis to find out who asks for Flavia's hand in marriage and who gets lost in a desert of mirages. Read it most of all to be swept along in an exciting adventure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
This, it must be said, is an amazing book.

I love the way that, floppy, falls in love with a girl loads younger than himself!!!

In this 14th book, Flavia and friends travel to Africa, Nubia's home land. Well... They have the task of stealing a valuable jewel for Titus; but not everything goes to plan!!! Mean Lupus the Actor!!! The only thing that I could possible critisise, is J's part, and Flavia's father!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
The most exotic mystery so far, living up to to every expectation and also going further. Set in North Africa, with the four children travelling with a caravan of actors. The stage is set for a great mystery every page makes you want to read more (i could n't put the book down). Will the children solve it......? Will anything happen to them...? Read it and find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
My daughter adored this series and knows more than me about the Romans and all other ancient civilizations now. A real good read for a child. Amusing her, she read it many times over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I chose this star rating because I met caroline Lawrence and I thought she was an amazing author . She is inspiring me to learn more about the Romans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here