Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2007
If you love history, adventure and mystery then this is the book for you!

This amazing book by best selling author, Caroline Laurence is called "The Dolphins of Laurentum."

The main characters are Flavia Gemina, daughter of a rich sea captin, Jonathan, a Jew, Nubia a slave and Lupus a mute begger boy.

I like Nubia because she always listens to people. I also like Jonathan becuse he is very funny!

Laurentum, a seaside town is the setting for this book.

The year is AD79 and the children discover a ship wreck full of treasure. As they try to recover the treasure the terrible mystery of Lupus's past is revealed...

Caroline Laurence will transport you into the world of ancient Rome with plenty of Latin vocabulary on the way with a Latin dictionary in the back!

One of the books from the Roman Mystery series, this book is sutable for age eight upwards.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2003
Book five in the enjoyable Roman Mysteries series continues to explore the history of the four main characters, this time concentrating on Lupus. Once again Caroline Lawrence writes a tight story, giving you a good feeling for Roman history without it seeming like a lecture. A good mix of humour, angst, thrills and cliffhangers, Dolphins will appeal to the seven to seventy year olds. The Famous Five meet Lindsey Davis.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
I like mystery books. A mystery book that isn't too scary is just fine for me. But to be able to travel back in time while I'm reading! The Roman Mysteries books are awesome, my most favourite books, and now that I've found out that there are movies of them, I've been borrowing DVDs from the library and I love them! This book is awesome and I really recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2003
This book can be descriped in two simple words,ABSOLOUTLY BRILLIANT. This book is marvelously written by one of the worlds best authors, Caroline Lawrence. This book is Filled with yet another fantastic mystery for Flavia, Jonathon, Lupus and Nubia to solve. This book is so exciting and moving that you will never want to put it down and there is another exciting thing about this book, it holds the secrets of the mute boy Lupus, the thing all mystery fans are waiting to hear!
This is book number five, so don't just sit there! Go on and buy it for a reading experience you have never experienced before!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
We are reading all of this series and my daughter loves the characters and stories. My sons also read these when they were younger and the eldest went on to study Classics at Cambridge. Like to think that these books started an interest in this time period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2005
hey you great readers out there!! this book was brill i have read it over a million times great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's brilliant full of loveable dolphins younger pliny and aristo love matches over miriam and the story of PHILLIPOS and LUKOS revealed!This book could'nt have been better!!!!!!!Caroline lawrence your a god send!! Book for all ages!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
The Dolphins of Laurentum is a lovely and adoreable book.It tells the stroy of Lupus. His begging was in greece and now he has ended up in ostia.(that was a the begging of the series)
His uncle venalicius tells the story on scroll and it tells Lupus's friends what a tragic lifetime he has had.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2005
The Dolphins of Laurentum is the fifth book in the Mystery series. It focuses mainly on Lupus and you discover about his past. It is very exciting as there are some cliffhangers that keep you glued to your seat
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
An absolutely amazing book. I recommend it to anyone who likes mysteries. Very touching and an amazing ending. Sorry, I use amazing allot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
My daughter has said that this book is great for people who love mysteries from different places and times. She would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse