Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 October 2009
This is a welcome book. Firstly it pitches well to reclaim the word "sceptic" to its original meaning- of doubt towards a proposition, rather than as a synonym for atheist. We know that atheists are sceptical about the claims of religion, but the religious are just as sceptical about the claims of atheism.

And Peter Williams sets out to show how and why the religious are sceptical of the claims of atheism. He does this by many arguments, across the field of the God debate. He knows the atheists' arguments well and quotes their key points and references before going on to interact with them and show up their logical or evidential flaws. For those who see Dawkins's "The God Delusion" as holy writ this will be unsettling.

This book is very carefully written trying to be fair to those authors and ideas which it critiques.

I can recommend it either to theists who want to disturb the certainties of their atheist friends, or to atheists who are beginning to reflect on their position.

Of course dyed in the wool rock heads won't even consider reading it.

If you want a good overview of the strong arguments against atheism then this book is a good place to start.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
A Sceptic's Guide To Atheism is a rock solid reply to contemporary atheism and Peter Williams thoroughly dismantles some of the strongest objections that atheists have to Christianity. I stress that this is no ordinary book reply and is almost certainly the strongest critique I've come across. He takes on in detail, people like Richard Dawkins, AC Grayling, Daniel Dennett, Carl Sagan, Lewis Wolpert and Sam Harris. As other reviewers have mentioned, one of the unique aspects of this book is the immense amount of research that Williams has put into it. There are pages and pages of footnotes per chapter and he lists an astonishing amount of recommended resources such as books, online papers, videos, audio debates and some of his own essays. It is interesting to compare the amount of research in this book to the research done in recent New Atheist books. Another unique aspect is Williams' use of quotes which are mainly from atheists! This is not a downside as it may seem to some, but it allows him to honestly and fairly engage with critics of theism and to really get into their way of thinking and of course it prevents him from misrepresenting them. Although this is largely a book that critiques atheism, the author does not neglect to build a positive case for theism and does so in various ways (even though it isn't the main intention of the book).

If you intend to read this book it does help to have some background knowledge on philosophy and science as Williams does get into some complex and deep issues throughout the book and covers a lot of ground in each chapter. It would probably beneficial also, though not necessary, to have read at least one New Atheist books or at least be partially familiar with their arguments. A Sceptic's Guide To Atheism is informative, well researched and devastating in it's critique of New Atheism. If you are an atheist and are willing to challenge your own worldview or a theist looking for some unique and valuable apologetic material, I heartily recommend this book.

If you would like to read a more detailed review of this book, I have written one for my blog here - [...]
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
After reading many of the theistic responses to Atheist arguments I must say this has been the most thorough refutation I've read so far to date. One of the highlights for me were the amount of quotes from the Atheist authors and sound logical responses, and since I've read much of the literature I'm aware that he hasn't taken anything out of context. Something that unfortunately some responses have been guilty of doing. In much of the Atheist literature its usually strawmen versions of Theist arguments that are examined and critiqued but Williams actually deals with what Atheists are actually saying.

The pages can be quite busy sometimes but it doesnt distract from the indepth content that provides the Atheist with some serious problems. The way Williams deals with Dawkins arguments from the God Delusion is a stand out for me and I will certainly be looking forward to more of what Peter Williams has to offer in the future.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
This is, overall, an excellent book. I came to it AFTER having spent more of my life than I care to remember critiquing Dawkins (The God Delusion), Hitchens (God is Not Great), Sam Harris (Letter to a Christian Nation) and also Bertrand Russell (especially 'Why I am not a Christian').

It is interesting how self-referencing these books actually are - and Peter Williams in his modest treatment, accurately diagnoses the mindset and logical fallacies implicit in their arguments. It is not (I do not think) written with an atheist readership in mind - and in my (limited) experience, Williams' use of connected argument is unlikely to appeal to that kind of readership - but for Christians seeking to understand the philosophical underpinnings of modern (or 'new') atheism, this is a must-read.

So, I could have saved myself a lot of time, by cutting to the chase and reading 'A Sceptic's Guide to Atheism'. Why don't you?
88 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Really loved this book. Very academic and concise refutation of the New Atheism. Whether you believe in God or not, an open minded read of this book will stop you basing any of your views on metaphysics from the unscholarly nonsense that Dawkins et al Peddle. A shame that work from genuine philosophers like Peter Williams goes unnoticed by lay people
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
This is, without a doubt, one of (if not the) most devastating critiques of `New Atheism' available today. Williams picks apart the often cited `reasons' for unbelief in theism and highlights their logical problems from a purely rational and logical approach.

What sets this apart from many other apologetics books is the author's research - on average over 150 footnotes per chapter. As well as that, his quotations do not simply cover Christian commentators, but in fact the majority of his references come from atheist and agnostic sources.

It must be noted that if you do not have some philosophical knowledge (I am an avid amateur) then some of the chapters can prove a struggle, but this should not deter anyone; it's worth the work.

The Sceptic's Guide to Atheism is an astonishing book that deserves to be read.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I found this to be an eloquently written defense of theistic arguements and reasoning. It is written at a level that a novice to philosophy and theology like me could get to grips with, and is clearly a very well-researched book with an incredible number of references! There are some serious logical objections to New Atheism presented here, however they are presented with a respect that is lacking in New Atheist publications about Theism. I would recommend this book to both Theists and Atheists who are interested in what both sides have to say about the existance and nature of God.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
An excellent book but you need your brain in gear. Uses philosophical jargon but overall a handy resource to dip into.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Cear critical analysis of the arguements presented by leading anti-theists. Impressive logical demolition but less effective argument for natural theology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Having read Dawkins' "The God Delusion" I was keen to read a theist's retort. After seeing several recommendations of this book I was keen to dive in. Sadly the arguments are so superficial that I struggled to find a reason for their inclusion in the book at all. The author often pokes fun at Richard Dawkins' and other prominent atheists' perceived sense of self importance, and dedicates several pages to highlighting their inflated egos, but these points are utterly irrelevant to the case for or against the existence of God. Even when the book does get into more meaningful theological arguments they are frankly rehashes of 'The argument from ignorance', 'The cosmological argument', and 'The sociological argument', all of which have been conclusively dismissed by the likes of Christopher Hitchens and Sam Harris. I was a little disappointed at how easily even someone such as myself was able to recognise the flaws and holes in the author's logic.

The 'Indulgent trash' I titled this review with is mainly spurred on by the title of the book "The Sceptic's guide to Atheism". The term 'sceptic' simply means you question a positive assertion. The positive assertion here is 'God exists'. Atheism is a rejection of this hypothesis due to a lack of evidence. Atheism makes no positive claims whatsoever itself other than that there is probably no god. The idea that atheism is its own belief system is a trap which many theists, including the author of this book, fall into when defending their own claims. The title "Sceptic's guide to atheism" only exemplifies the misguided views and false logic on which this book is based. It is sadly the same logic which a lot of beliefs themselves are based on, and it is why this book will onyl divid people further on the issue. This book will not convert anyone one way or the other, but will probably leave theists feeling a little smug while being ridiculed by logical thinkers.
1717 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)