Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 19 May 2017
Very pleased with the book, good fun to read. Although it was pre-owned, the book was in great order. Another to add to my Lovejoy collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 April 2013
John Grant, who penned the Lovejoy books under the name Jonathan Gash presents us here with Lovejoy's fourth adventure. I should point out that if you have never read any of the books before and only watched the tv series, the books are different.

It starts when Lovejoy sees a friend forced off the road and killed, whilst he is having one of his trysts. Lovejoy is of course soon on the case, risking his life on a dangerous mission for an antique that he never knew existed. If you decide to purchase this and think that you soon know who the killer is and are disappointed, then keep reading, the actual murder is not the mystery, the mystery is what was so valuable to lead to murder.

As Lovejoy faces one of his fears we find out something about his Army days and what he got up to. With adventure and excitement there is humour here too as Lovejoy has his usual entanglement with the ladies, and he also gives us some of his antiques tips. This is another enjoyable tale to get caught up in.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Lovejoy is the original Essex Man . . . a ducker, a diver, and a divvie . . . that means someone with the magical gift of being able to divine the presence of true antiques. That's a great basis for a series of hero-in-peril novels in the Dick Francis mould. This is the fourth in the Lovejoy series - I've read a few previously and hearing that the TV series is to be reborn with more emphasis on the original source material, I thought I'd try another of the books. This is an enjoyable romp with all the same positives and negatives from previous readings. The positives are Lovejoy himself; the Essex-estuary setting (little villages full of big characters, boozy pubs, antiques shops and dealers) but more than anything, the little nuggets of antiques history and information (different in every book but here including locks, railway memorabilia and "treen") that stud the whole story. The negatives? Well this was written in a hurry in the pre-laptop era and could have done with a lot more crafting - many of the descriptions of action and situation may have made sense in the author's head, but they often don't to the reader. The biggest minus, though, is the apparent need for these stories to climax with some improbable maelstrom of danger, fisticuffs, blood, sweat and tears. That's a shame, because that approach detracts from a lot of the earlier cosy antiquey stuff. These are novels of two halves - great beginnings, but with boringly predictable, physical endings. So overall, lots to enjoy, less to love.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
This is (Amazon) no.4 in the Lovejoy books. Readers may remember the TV series of the same name.
Lovejoy is a plausible rogue whose first love is for Antiques. his 2nd, 3rd, etc, is for women. Lovejoy it is who
tracks down the baddies. In the course of these stories he throws out facts and tips about various
antiques. With the help of Google and Wikipedia these all seem OK so the author is certainly into into his subject matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I did enjoy this book. It made a change from my usual historical novels. I also read three other "Lovejoy" novels - but I don't think I will bother about any more. The plots are all good, but Lovejoy does have a charmed life. He should have been killed off by every one of the "baddies" but always managed to survive for yet another hair-raising episode.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
First read this a looooong time ago, just before the tv series made it big in the uk. I remember being delighted by the books, and horrified at how frivolous and 'nice' they had made the tv episodes.

Basically, if you are expecting books that are like the tv then don't waste your money. This Lovejoy is altogether darker, harder, more compassionate and frankly, brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
What more can I say about jonathan Gash except that he has given us years of entertainment and even today his television series is being repeated and enjoyed over and over again tell me who writes material like this anymore. The story line is good and interesting and the characters true to life we all know a loveable rouge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Good read and storyline easy to follow, as stated on my previous reviews of these books you have to totally forget Ian McShane's television portrayal of Lovejoy as the book's character is a lot darker and less of a mischievous rogue; on the whole I would recommend the book but try to read them in sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I have enjoyed this series and would recommend them all. However, becoming a little similar in plot. ie., always bad guys, beaten up, against all the odds, success. Even so, good read well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Lovejoy never disappoints. Gash always spins a good yarn, although somehow the character of Lovejoy is always slightly different, though infinitely more interesting than the TV version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse