Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
24
4.2 out of 5 stars
Hollywood
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 March 2017
Brilliant condition and fantastic book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Would have given in 5 if it had all the real celeb names haha!

Bukowski at his best, but then again he is at his best with every novel!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
A good novel from a well loved author, Bukowski serves up another dish of gritty, rough, hard nose drinking antics. The main theme revolves around writing and producing a film about a period of Bukowski's life. Not as reeling and rolling as some of his earlier masterpieces such as Post office, yet still well worth a read and a must for any Bukowski fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
As much as this pains me to say, “Hollywood” was a massive disappointment. The book has no energy, Chinaski is old, tired and dare I say, a sellout.
As always, Chinaski is Bukowski's alter ego and that may be the problem. Bukowski was living comfortably, money in the bank and a solid relationship with a good woman. Bukowski just doesn't work as... well happy, I guess. His writing is stale, dull, with only brief flashes of his “old” brilliance. The book is about his “adventure” in “Hollywood”, adapting one of his novels for the big screen. The book is filled with little “stories” about how weird the people in the movie business are, with made up names of course, but its all terribly “empty” and in the end it all feels shallow. The whole book seems like Bukowski is going through the motions, writing like its “a job” and not because he actually has anything to say. Gone is the despair, the hunger, the quiet rage at the “machine”. Nothing is is remotely deep or has any meaning. “Hollywood” by Bukowski is as superficial and vacuous as the business it depicts and as much about the “bottom line” too. Its a tired exercise by a tired man. With his last shred of... shall we say self awareness, Bukowski struggles to spend the book looking down on those “crazy Hollywood types” when deep down, both him and the reader know that no matter how he tries to hide it, even from himself, he became one of them and ultimately one of the “system”.
As a piece of entertainment, “Hollywood” also has little to offer. The usual cast of over the top characters are everywhere but here, unlike in his other novels, their use seems desperate and not very convincing. Bukowski goes to extremes to show their “weirdness” but it all feels very bland and there isn't much of his usual dry humor either.
If you're a fan of Bukowski and his work in his prime, I would recommend you to stay away from “Hollywood”. Remember Chinaski as the rebel he once was and not an old man writing a script and a novel for a few more bucks to spend on a new car. Oh how I wish i'd have read this review before reading “Hollywood”.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
Charles Bukowski's minimal style, always egotistical and mostly alcohol affected is concerned in this book with his succesful attempt to see a screenplay (for Barfly) become a reality.
Names are changed but it is fun to read Bukowski's views on the movers and shakers in 1980's Hollywood.
The womanising and drinking are subdued (due to being married) and even a hedonistic rebel such as Bukowski comes across as conventional compared to the weirdness and double-dealing that appears to be Hollywood.
Not neccesarily a good first Bukowski read (try Post Office or Factotum) but nevertheless good fun.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2016
The narrative is, as one might expect, about filming Bukowski's life or at any rate a slice of it in what may or may not be a comment at how 'Barfly' was made into a creditable film. What interests me though, as always in Bukowski, is the way an outsider looks at the life of more 'normal' peole while carrying on his more simple life. So it's two-in-one really: a look at Hollywoodland one who knows it as well as seeing Tinseltown as we aren't used to seeing it. "Six suburbs in search of a City"? Well L.A. is not, of course, a normal place by any standards and the idiosyncratic p.o.v. makes it seems doubly strange. Very entertaining and written in a terse, knowing style. Well worth a go. As is 'Barfly.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
Bukowski is a great writer and this return to his semi-autobiographical character Chinanski is a pretty straight forward affair. It is always good to read a bit of Bukowski, makes me feel better about people and how ridiculous we all are and here he reveals us at our most ridiculous, making movies.

It's interesting to read about the actors he comes across, who are easily identifiable if you know about Barfly (the resulting film)and hes as lewd and crude and drunk as ever. The great thing with Bukowski is between the women, gambling, drinking, fighting and writing there will be a page or passage that cuts through all that and grabs you by the heart revealing humanity in all its fragility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Not as much gritty realism as the previous books, this is more about the inside workings of the making of a film. So those looking for gross stories and violence will be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Another great book from Bukowski. This one is more about the insanity of Hollywood than his own personal madness, or maybe just that no one persons insanity compares to the collective insanity of the world of film. Maybe not his best but it's good to read about a more settled man than the Chiniski of post office, factotum and Women. If you like Bukowski check out his favourite author John Fante and the Bandini Qaurtet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
I got this book for my Kindle and I'm already hotly awaiting the Post Office on Kindle release. This is the first Bukowski book I've read and I really enjoyed it, in many ways his writing reminds me of of Hunter S Thompson. Henry Chinaski is a simple but likeable character, a man of Hemingwayish grit. I might start with ham on Rye and read that before Post Office as well...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Pulp: A Novel
£9.58
Factotum
£9.99
Post Office
£6.99
Women
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here