Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2017
This is refreshingly entertaining, readable and unpretentious - particularly for a book billed as an 'American Classic' (something which is usually no recommendation). It's deep, maybe; but the depth is subtle, the sadness so underplayed that if you weren't paying attention you could easily mistake it for the memoirs of a simple-minded hedonistic oaf - as some reviewers obviously have. It's emphatically not the usual 'struggling writer' schtick, and thank God for that. What makes the guy interesting is that he is just - only just - extraordinary enough to offer insight into ordinariness. Its slightness doesn't outstay its welcome, and it's pretty funny as it stumbles through the vicissitudes of an intense, unplanned working-class life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Charles Bukowski was a troubled man. But what a writer. This book is a very personal depiction of Bukowski's own childhood. He a difficult man to like, but you can understand why he is the way he is. And that makes this book so fascinating. Long before we celebrated flawed protagonists, Charles Bukowski was writing Ham on Rye.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Maybe I wasn't in the right mood for this type of literature, but I don't think there's anything particularly valuable or inspiring about this book. If you like reading about mistreated women, horrible jobs, sadistic superiors, primitive people or irresponsible drinking then buy it with confidence. At times it was so frustrating that it made me laugh, which is why I give it two stars instead of one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Those of us who have had low-paid, zero-hour jobs in which we have toiled will love this book, especially if we enjoy a drink or three. If so, all of Bukowski's books will appeal to you. My copy arrived promptly, in excellent condition and I will enjoy reading it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
Fantastic!
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Faster delivery than Usain Bolt.

Great read. Funny, full of grit and a great introduction to a wonderful writer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Fantastic book. It's also arrived in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Post Office was my first from Bukowski and I will be reading many more following this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Love bukowski and quick postage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£9.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here