Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
The "Battle Cruiser" concept looked good on paper - a relatively cheap, but enormously powerful ship. Faster and bigger than any Dreadnought of the time, but fatally weak in armour protection. Inevitably they were used for a role they had never been intended to fill - politicians and civil servants only hear what they want to hear in any country and in any generation - and of the three that went to war in 1939, Hood and then Repulse were both casualties. Renown survived, but only to become razor blades as a post war economy needed scrap iron more than it needed it's Fleet.

The fatal mistake of not replacing the aging battle Squadrons during the 1920s and 30s meant that, on the outbreak of WW2, the three British Battlecruisers had to take their place in the Battlefleet as "Battleships" when they patently were not. This book details their originals, the attempts to "modernise" them and give them the protection they lacked and covers the tragedy of aging ships sent to deal with an enemy who had done all the things the British government refused to do until it was to late. Repulse and the Prince of Wales were sacridficed to the stupidity of Whitehall which believed the Malaysian jungle to be "impenetrable" and that the Japanese "were not air minded" and so Singapore and the ships sent to the Far East needed no air cover...

Short, an excellent reference tool and magnificently illustrated.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2007
I was looking for some reference material on PT boats and MTB's for some model boats that I am making, when I found this series of books.

This is an excellent reference book giving details of the various MTBs that were in service with photos and drawings. These will certainly help when looking to bring the details of my model to near as can be the real item.

Recommend this book to any other modeller looking for material on the MTB or an MTB/Naval enthusiast.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
A reasonable offering. Some good details and history of the ships. Good value for money
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
A good osprey title packed with information and details on the battlecruisers Repulse, Hood, etc. that britain produced between the two wars.

I have learned a few things on these boats that I was not familiar with. The battlecruiser concept is well explained the author successfully made me understand their role and failures.

It is also well illustrated and the author's writing style is fluid and clear. However, I found the photographs and plates slightly repetitive. A bit more photographs of the inside of the boats, or of crewmen would have been welcome and more lively. Also, the book was a bit light in "construction" of the behemoths.

Finally, the maps are a good addition. The plates are beautiful and illustrate the text perfectly.

Exactly what I am expecting of an osprey title.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
This book was purchased for modelling reference purposes. The illustrations are good, as are the colour plates. The history and operational detail is very interesting, making use of numerous references. However, many of the photographs are available elsewhere in other publications, where their quality is far better than in this book. The grainy and poor reproduction of many renders them useless for detailed examination. Slightly disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Good quality paper. Many colour illustrations with helpful practical advice on the construction and modification of specific kits. This and John Lambert's book on allied torpedo boats are necessary for a modelling project on British Coastal Forces craft.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
Received as a gift after showing interest in this book. Content is good, but this is as thick as a guide book rather than a book - and will not take you long to get through! A technical reference book rather than one detailing the exploits of the boats and their crews to give a full picture of the effectiveness of this not too often reported sector from the war period. Overall: Disappointed and will continue looking for other suitable books on the subject.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book which brought back many happy memories of my wartime service in the Royal Navy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Standard Osprey Style, not bad but there are better books on the subject out there for about the same price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)