Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2013
Well I should declare that James is a friend. But I should also declare an interest in promoting British biodiversity in its entirety, and James has written a book that will inspire new naturalists and veteran pan-species listers alike to get into the field and see our wildlife. I love the way this book is written - it would have been so easy to write dull accounts of the logistics of where, when and how. But James has managed to weave all this into a witty and erudite narrative which really brings alive a sense of place and of experiencing wildlife in its natural context. It's very readable.
There is an understandable emphasis on vertebrates, orchids and other more glamorous species but hopefully that leaves the door open for "52 more wildlife weekends" for those who want to see more of the 80,000 species that occur in Britain!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
What a lovely book, great for planning where to go and such wonderful pictures and informative text. Great to have a UK based book from this well established publisher of Guide Books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
This is the perfect guide for nature-lovers of all kinds looking to make the most of British wildlife in their free time. Where to go? When to visit? What to do? What to look for? Where to stay? This guide provides the answers. It might help a family orient their weekend excursions to take better advantage of nature's sights, or allow a keen naturalist to make the most of a business trip to encounter some of the country's most wanted wild species. Although seasoned naturalists will make full use of it, the book should also nudge a less expert readership - perhaps a typical BBC Springwatch audience - to go out and experience Britain's wildlife in the flesh.

Most of the wildlife spectacles that have come to be uniquely associated with the UK are covered: hundreds of wintering geese, spring Bluebell woods, ancient Yew trees, Puffin colonies, the aerial displays at Starling roosts, dusk gatherings of crows, and opportunities to snorkel with Basking Sharks. The majority of these would be targets for even the keen naturalist: charismatic species such as Fen Raft Spider and Purple Emperor, Cirl Bunting and Pine Marten, amongst many others.

With 52 chapters, there is one weekend for every week of the year (although one would have to be pretty dedicated to exhaust all the suggestions in one, or even two years). Five wildlife targets grouped within easy striking distance have been chosen for each weekend. For example, a weekend on the Yorkshire coast (#38: September weekend 3) comprises a boat trip from Bridlington, rockpooling at South Landing, and birding at Flamborough, the Outer Head and North Landing. The first weekend trip is one of my favourites: an excursion to see Islay's wintering geese, and perhaps the Lagavulin and Laphroaig chasers recommended by the author. The experience is rounded off with Otters and Golden Eagle and, with a bit of luck, White-tailed Eagle. Thirty years on, this remains one of my most memorable short trips: in fact, I still remember the geese and raptors, not to mention Bruichladdich, Bowmore, Lagavulin and Caol Ila.

For each location, a weekend 'base' is suggested: a local town or a particularly characterful lodgings. Contact details and / or OS grid references of lodgings and wildlife sites are provided. There is a good spread of sites, with the majority of them outside south-east England. An index of sites and species, together with a couple of helpful tables, allow the reader to plan a whole year of rewarding wildlife excursions.

A book to inspire, but above all a guide to be taken out and used. This is recommended for anyone who wants to take a more active approach to experiencing the full gamut of Britain's wildlife, whether the keen naturalist with a wildlife hit list or simply those who want to become better acquainted with British nature. My copy has already found a home in the glove compartment...

Chris Sharpe, 5 September 2013. ISBN-13: 978-1-84162-464-8
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
James Lowen (and his daughter Maya) are regular visitors to my RSPB Reserve at Rainham Marshes and it seemed only right that we should review his fabulous new book: 52 Wildlife Weekends, especially as we (along with many other RSPB reserves) get a very good plug!
James has outdone himself with this very simple and yet inspirational guide to making the most of your annual 52 weekends. The level of detail is fantastic and written in a style that brings our British wildlife into glorious technicolor. No phylum is excluded... everything from birds, sharks, fungi, plants, bees, bats, moths and even the humble lichen has its place.

I already have some ideas for next year and the Northern Butterflies beckon at long last! So instead of getting on a plane for a weekend break abroad, stay at home in Blighty and see what delights these magical island hold...

Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can get the book into our shop and then get James down to do a booking signing or two!

Howard Vaughan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
This book has 52 fantastic and inspiring ideas for weekends getting to know our beautiful countryside and wildlife. I spent a truly magical weekend watching the deer rut in a golden sunset on Dunwich Heath followed by a glorious morning birdwatching at stunning RSPB Minsmere. We didn't spot any otters unfortunately but I will be going back so maybe I'll have better luck next time. Buy the book and get out there - I promise you, it's worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Such a lovely book - written and illustrated so well that, even if you can't get away for the weekend, you can read a bit of this and be taken there anyway. Keep out of the reach of children though - according to mine, we're off to Suffolk in a few weeks' time, on the way to the Isles of Scilly...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Well presented, full of quality photographs and the style of writing is very engaging. A great book for the beginner or seasoned naturalist, with exciting ideas for wildlife experiences across Britain. The enthusiasm of the author really shines through. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Although the primary purpose of this beautiful book is to enable the reader to plan and indulge in weekends brimming with wildlife wonders, it is also an inspiring read for those of us unable to to spend our weekends replicating James' enticing adventures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
An interesting, innovative and useful guide to wildlife watching in Great Britain. The author assumes little foreknowledge, only the reader's enthusiasm which is bound to be piqued by this neat book. Well worth the modest price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Beautiful book with lots of interesting & helpful tips. Beautiful pictures and exciting locations. I only wish there were more locations north of the border. Scotland is such a beautiful country and the balance of Scottish & English locations is slightly off here considering how much scotland has to offer. Maybe he author could write a Scottish version?

But all in all, a very inspiring read providing many more locations for me to explore with my camera!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)