Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 October 2016
Very good book which was in an excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2012
Having read the other reviews I am confused. From my point of view (as someone moving to East Anglia) it just lacks detail. I bought it with some excitement but read it with disappointment. Sorry.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2016
What a shame that Laurence Mitchell didn't pay more attention in Geography lessons. Had he done so he may have realised that Newmarket is in Suffolk and included it in his book. He seems to think that the town is in Cambridgeshire and so has left out the town and it's race course (which admittedly does straddle the Cambridgeshire border) completely. I understand that the book doesn't claim to offer a total and comprehensive guide to the two counties but to miss out one of the most famous parts of Suffolk is ridiculous.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2011
Yet another wonderful Sawday's production this time in conjunction with Bradt. If you live in or are planning to Norfolk or Sufolk this is an ideal companion. Including such gems as where to to wildlife, the best walks and cycle rides, great pubs and accommodation. There are also great maps, illustrations and colour photographs. The book is really well written and incredibly interesting and captivating. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2010
This book - a new partnership between Alastair Sawday and the Bradt team - offers the reader a colourful, informative, relaxed guide to the nooks and crannies of Norfolk and Suffolk. The emphasis is on slow. This is a book like books used to be written. Curl up and absorb the magic that this part of the world and the slow way of thinking can bring.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2010
i love east anglia, having grown up on the border between norfolk and suffolk. this is a great guide to the area for both newcomers and long term residents - i learnt a couple of facts about the village in which i spent my childhood which i was totally unaware of previously.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2010
Having just moved to Norfolk this guide is providing a really helpful introduction to the East of England. It's a great mix of information about places to visit, places to eat and where to buy quality food as well as finding about the best nature has to offer. There's also plenty of colour photos and a colour section on places to stay; which having stayed in a number of Sawday's recommended B&Bs will be the best the area has to offer. I loved the layout and the mixture of information and stories from locals. Overall thoroughly recommended if you want to get to know the area including the hidden corners.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2010
Everything you need to know, History, Buildings, Villages, Walks,Where to eat, Places to Stay, simply packed full of useful, interesting,and amusing information. Stanley Bates
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)