Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2008
We bought this guide before our honeymoon to Zanzibar and found it really helpful in choosing the places we wanted to stay as the reviews were so detailed. It was not the only guide we bought, but having been out and used it, it is by far the most accurate and helpful. There are lots of interesting anecdotes as well as advice on what to do, where to eat and all that. We would highly recommend this book for being down-to-earth, readable and by far the most comprehensive. Have a good trip!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
The Bradt guide is highly recommended. It is current, well written and with excellent background/history/culture section. Detailed, appropriately opinionated and comprehensive reviews of hotels and restauranta. Good sections on Mafia island (to the south) and Pemba (north) - both of these are well worth choosing as the non-commercial alternative to Zanzibar main island. There is also a chapter on the southern mainland safari parks. In my view the dream holiday is Selous and/or Ruaha safari, then Mafia or Pemba for 4-7 days and three days in or near Stonetown on Zanzibar!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2007
I'm a big fan of Bradt Guides and found this very useful for background info prior to my trip. Really appreciated all the research that had obviously gone into it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
This guide is extremly well researched and written in a very personal manner that makes you feel you are speaking to friends or returning to Zanzibar, even when it is your first time on the island.
The writers have Zanzibars future interest at heart and it resonates through the pages.
The only downside is the poor binding which meant the colour pages started falling out upon the first use. On a positive note, you can use these then as bookmarks...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This book was sent in practically new condition with no marks or stains, no dog eared pages - it literally just had creases in the spine to show it had been opened and looked through. The book itself is perfect, knowledgeable, concise and detailed and it will certainly act as our bible when we go to Zanzibar :0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
I normally buy DK Eyewitness guides because they offer more detail on places / sights with good colour illustrations / pictures to pick out important points of interest or jog the memory in later years.

However looking around for a solely Zanzibar guide proved unsuccessful so I bought this on the basis of the Amazon recommendations.

Little in the way of good colour illustrations / pictures are included and for those few that were included the pages promptly fell out of the book presumably through inadequate binding / glue.

However the written content is very good and was very helpful in preparing for my shortly forthcoming holiday there.

There will be a postscript in the near future if it fails to deliver on the ground.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
An extremely thorough and accurate guide. Full of useful advice and up-to-date information on health, safety, accommodation, restaurants and how to get around. No traveller to Zanzibar should go without it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
I had the old edition, this is even better, lots of detail and throughly researched.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
Excellent guide - compact for a first introduction to the country but some really useful tips.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
If you're interested in Zanzibar's history, this is very good. It also has a section on safaris in southern Tanzania, which people often visit in combination with Zanzibar. Therefore if that's your plan, you could get this without needing a separate guidebook to mainland Tanzania. It's also good on ethical tourism, suggesting tours and shops that benefit local people (a bit of a plug too for the author's own travel agency, but hey...). The section on health, and what to bring, is also good. The downsides: the binding is pretty poor, and if you want a slim, compact guide with a removable map, I'd go for the Globetrotter Travel Pack. It's also in need of a new edition, since this book came out in 2009 (and reads like it was mostly writen in 2008), and things are changing quite fast in Zanzibar. I don't think it was essential for our trip, but it was nice to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)