Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 5 October 2017
Excellent handbook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2007
This book is certainly very pretty, with excellent photographs.
It is also thin and light-weight, and does cover a little bit of everything: habitats, recommended sites to visit, mammals, birds, reptiles and insects.
As such, it is an inspiring read, and probably the best single-volume book to carry for those who only have a superficial interest in Madagadcar's unique wildlife.

However, for more serious naturalists the information it offers is far too limited. Even mammals, the best detailed group, are only discussed down to genus level, neither mentioning nor illustrating all or even most species. Birds receive a token coverage of 10 pages, and reptiles fare little better.
Even the descriptions of nature reserves can be found in the more recent, excellent and complete field guides to the "Mammals of Madagascar: A Complete Guide" which actually tells you where to spot every single species separately, and the similarly brilliant "Birds of the Indian Ocean Islands" which not only covers all the birds of Madagascar, but those of neighbouring islands too, along with recommended birdwatching sites. Fans of herpetofauna should try and get hold of "A Field Guide to the Amphibians & Reptiles of Madagascar".
If you buy any of the above field guides, you will find this book a waste of money - I did.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2011
Booked my holiday before buying the guide. Silly thing to do! However, luckily the travel company provided good advice. Would have made some adjustments though had I had the guide first. It will serve me in good stead when I book my second holiday as I am intrigued.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2009
Beautifully produced and illustrated with Nick's wonderful photos and drawings, and his authoritative text, yet portable and a great travelling companion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2008
A slim portable volume packed with expert information, richly illustrated with Nick's wonderful photographs and drawings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2009
Very well written review giving all the essential details for anyone visiting Madagascar. Excellent photographs
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2013
This guide was in use by our Madagascan guide on a recent trip to the island and we have now bought our own copy to help put names to all our photos. No book can contain everything but this one makes a good stab at it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2013
I found this to be very useful while I was in Madagascar and a great help in identification. Recommended for any potential visitor to this unique island.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2011
Really nice glossy colour photos but the written detail is not very informative and the number of species listed is not very extensive. Not bad for a quick reference, but if you are interested in more detail about behaviours or a more comprehensive guide to wildlife, I'd look elsewhere.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2014
A great travel companion on any visit to Madagascar. Brilliantly laid out and beautifully Illustrated. Good to read and absorbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)