Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
40
4.9 out of 5 stars
The Collected Works of Kahlil Gibran
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 19 May 2012
I can't recommend this book enough. Gibran was a genius and this collection by Everyman is excellent. The book is beautifully illustrated in black and white by Gibran himself. Most people have only heard of his book 'The Prophet' which is a shame; his other works are just as compelling and as deep in thought. Whatever your beliefs, Gibran will stimulate your imagination and viewpoints on life.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This is a nice book to hold and read, also has original illustrations included. For myself I would have liked the print to be a little larger, and therefore the book to be a little larger. I have only dipped into parts of it, and will continue to do so but am unlikely to sit and just go through it. I am glad to have it on my bookshelf though, and am finding Gibran was a more prolific writer of rare talent than I had appreciated.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Utterly amazing!

Khalil Gibran's writing has such an easy, free-flowing style to it, and yet it is still full of meaning and forces you to think for a considerable amount of time afterwards about meaning of what you've read.

This is truly a beautiful kind of poetry - it is often open to interpretation and different people will relate to it in slightly different ways.

Pure genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Gibran's writings have been popular for many years and I purchased this excellent edition to replace an older copy of mine. Poet, philosopher and artist Kahlil Gibran's writings stir the soul. The Irish poet, mystic and painter George Russell 'AE', said of him "I do not think the East has spoken with so beautiful a voice since the Gitanjali of Rabindranath Tagore".
Words by "The Prophet" still are relevant today and reading this book will deepen your thought processes and leave you uplifted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
This is a beautifully produced book, with insight into innate feelings we have through reflection, moments of consciousness, and heartfelt feelings.. It can be a little hard to digest, and takes some thinking into what is meant in some of his writings, as some are more intellectually thought out, and therefore harder to understand.. Though the heartfelt pieces are a delight to read, and a real pleasure for the heart to feel. The pictures drawn by Kahlil Gibran are stunning, and he had a real talent for portraying human feelings through his drawings.. and this book is worth getting just for that.. the Poetry being an extraordinary delight and pleasure to read too.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This book is worthy of its value and would suit all romantics and lovers of poetry. A relaxing read as you dip into it at those times when you have some peace and quiet. For the uninitiated it is also an eye opener. And for those who are already a fan it is "a must" to add to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It was a gift and the recipient was delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
A thoughtful text provoking deep reflection and providing spiritual nourishment; very helpful from a psychotherapy point of view, engaging in a process of change.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I have owned and loved The Prophet for many years.I have given it has gifts, and recommended it to others. I am enjoying reading slowly, his collected works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here