Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 April 2012
It's ten days after the events of Summer Lightning and Sue Brown is still at Blandings Castle, Lord Emsworth's palatial home in Shropshire. So is Lord Emsworth's sister, the formidable Lady Constance. She is still not keen on the idea of Sue, a chorus-girl, marrying her nephew, Ronnie Fish, but her brother, Galahad Threepwood, has agreed not to publish his scandalous memoirs on condition that no opposition is made to the marriage. Constance considers this to be blackmail, but sees no alternative. Ronnie's mother, Lady Julia Fish, however, is of a different opinion, and has no intention of letting her son throw his life away, as she sees it, on a mere chorus-girl. Also not happy, though for different reasons, is Lord Tilbury, head of the Mammoth Publishing Corporation, who stood to make a mint by publishing the memoirs. He can see the money disappearing into the distance. Meanwhile, Lord Emsworth has other worries. He is still concerned that his neighbour, Sir Gregory Parsloe, is planning to steal his pig, and becomes even more concerned when he finds that Connie has engaged Parsloe's nephew, Monty Bodkin, as his new secretary. To complicate matters further, in true Wodehouse fashion, Bodkin was once engaged to Sue Brown, a fact that needs to be kept secret from the jealous Ronnie. Thus, the scene is set for one of the best of Wodehouse's brilliant farces.

This book, first published in 1933, was the fourth full-length Blandings novel. Wodehouse was at the top of his game having written almost fifty books by this stage, and the plot glides beautifully along its groove, as it would continue to do perfectly for many more years. Heavy Weather marks the first appearance of Monty Bodkin, who would go on to become a favourite Wodehouse character in two later novels, The Luck of the Bodkins, and Pearls, Girls, and Monty Bodkin. We also meet Ronnie's formidable mother, another overbearing female of the Emsworth clan, Lady Julia Fish, for the first and only time. As with the best of Wodehouse's novels, the plot becomes ever more complex, the characters ever more perplexed, until it seems that nothing can unravel the tangle. Wodehouse, however, is more than up to the task, and as ever untangles everything to bring on the long-delayed happy ending.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2012
Until a month ago, I'd never read anything by PG Wodehouse, because the Jeeves and Wooster stories are so familiar from radio & TV dramatisations, that I thought they would not feel fresh enough on the page, and that I'd find all those aristocratic twerps a bit tedious. However, having heard the writing praised so fulsomely I decided to give Wodehouse a go, starting with a Blandings novel, as less familiar than a Jeeves and Wooster one. The first one that I chose was 'Summer Lightning', which proved a good introduction to the Blandings set-up. It took me a while to get the ironic humour in the style, but as I progressed I really loved Wodehouse's classsical and literary allusions (especially the Shakespearean ones, being a great Shakespeare fan myself). The plotting is brilliant, too, and the story develops into a real farce, which one can't help but admire, although I usually prefer humour from character rather than situation (cf Porridge vs Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em'), but I came to delight in some of the characters, too, especially Lord Emsworth & his brother Galahad.

Anyway,having finished and enjoyed 'Summer Lightning' more than I expected, I decided to read its sequel, 'Heavy Weather'. It has proved a wonderful Christmas/New Year choice. The only problem being, having just 20 pages left, I've lost my copy!! I think I've left it at my sister-in-law's, 60 miles away, so I'm in suspense until I can retrieve it and find out how all the convolutions in the plot are unravelled (or should it be 'tied up'?). The story continues about 10 days after 'Summer Lightning' finished, most of the main characters reappear, with some additions, and the plots about the Empress ( Lord Emsworth's prize pig, and cause of much paranoia on his Lordship's part) and the fate of Galahad's Reminiscences develop, together with the ups and downs of Ronnie's and Sue's romance.

Suffice to say, for me this is better than its predecessor, but you need to read the 2 as a duet. I haven't yet discovered whether the later Blandings novels continue the same themes, or are new situations. As you will no doubt have gsthered I'm definitely a Wodehouse convert!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2008
Martin Jarvis excells again as he reads Wodehouse's sequel to Summer Lightning (Csa Word Classic). His range of vocal characterisations is extended to include Lady Julia and Lord Tilbury (or Stinker Pike as the Hon Gallahad insists on referring to him).

Despite taking the action taking place in a compeltely unbelievable fantasy world that surely never existed the listener is sucked in to this bizzare world of pigs, frustrated love and the, sadly never fully related, story of the prawns.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
I'm working my way around to getting every Wodehouse in the series, replacing tatty old paperbacks with hardbacks (and filling in the blanks in my collection).

The books are a fantastic read, and this edition will please every Wodehouse fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
You cannot beat a bit of Bertie. Love these novels. Only a few left to read. This one arrived so speedily l was enjoying it within 3 days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2018
good laugh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
Excellent product and service. Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Wodehouse at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2014
Yet another trip to Blandings Castle. This is as enjoyable as the others in the series. If you enjoy any of the others in the series, you will enjoy this adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2008
While not the best in the series this is still very enjoyable. Even when treading familiar territory P.G. Wodehouse can never be accused of being formulaic. And while the comic timing of Horden and Briers isn't always spot on they are still a class act.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse